Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A bumper sticker I’d like to see

with 4 comments

UPDATE: I’ve rethought the whole thing. Go read this post.
The GOP has somehow framed the issue so that the Democratic party is seen as anti-religion or at least anti-Christian. This is nonsense, but the frame has been accepted, with the idea that the “religious” vote goes Republican. Wrong, wrong, wrong. I’d like to see this bumper sticker freely available and in wide use:

I’m Christian and I vote Democratic!

I know many Christians who are liberals—the GOP has no lock on religion or religious values or religious people. But until the evidence smacks them in the face, the media will continue to report otherwise. Let’s get these bumper stickers out there.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 June 2006 at 9:23 am

Posted in GOP, Media

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I want to see one that says “Values Voter: Matt 25.35-40.” Jesus doesn’t speak to abortion (yes, it existed in his time) or homosexuality. Instead, he says this.

    2nd daughter

    29 June 2006 at 11:44 am

  2. I had to look it up. In the American Standard Version:

    Mat 25:35 for I was hungry, and ye gave me to eat; I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink; I was a stranger, and ye took me in;
    Mat 25:36 naked, and ye clothed me; I was sick, and ye visited me; I was in prison, and ye came unto me.
    Mat 25:37 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee hungry, and fed thee? or athirst, and gave thee drink?
    Mat 25:38 And when saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?
    Mat 25:39 And when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?
    Mat 25:40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it unto one of these my brethren, [even] these least, ye did it unto me.

    leisureguy

    29 June 2006 at 11:49 am

  3. The more I think about it, the more I realize that the above passage from Matthew defines a substantial part of the core values of the Democratic Party, as against those values of the GOP—whose values might be summarized as YOYO: “You’re on your own.” The Religious Right want Christian credit for very unchristian attitudes toward the poor, the needy, the downtrodden.

    leisureguy

    29 June 2006 at 3:34 pm

  4. And The Wife pointed out that the 2nd daughter’s formulation is better than mine, if the bumper sticker is to speak to the religious. By not stating a party, a member of the Religious Right would be more apt to read and consider the content. Such a person would recognize the allusion and remember the passage, and begin (perhaps) to think about the values represented and, on their own, come to realize that the values voiced by Jesus are in opposition to what the GOP has become.

    leisureguy

    29 June 2006 at 5:26 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,347 other followers