Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Archive for September 21st, 2006

Good source of New Mexico chili peppers

with 2 comments

In various forms: powdered, flaked, mixes, etc. And inexpensive. Take a look.

Written by LeisureGuy

21 September 2006 at 6:20 pm

Posted in Food, Recipes

Bike furniture

leave a comment »

The Son once did a sculpture that included several (dozens?) of bicycles. When I saw this selection of furniture made from bicycle parts, it occurred to me that he could make good use of the sculpture leftovers.

Written by LeisureGuy

21 September 2006 at 4:45 pm

Posted in Art, Daily life

Easy size comparison

leave a comment »

Check it out: enter the dimensions of the object you’re interested in, and see it compared to some everyday object you select.

Written by LeisureGuy

21 September 2006 at 4:23 pm

Posted in Daily life

Don Walser, 1934-2006

with one comment

Don Walser, the Pavarotti of the Plains, has just passed away. I have several of his CDs. He was a really great country/western singer and also, to all appearances, a fine man.

Written by LeisureGuy

21 September 2006 at 1:33 pm

Posted in Daily life

For car fans

leave a comment »

Some family members are big fans of automobiles. Here’s a free digital magazine about cars to satisfy the inner mechanic/driver.

Written by LeisureGuy

21 September 2006 at 12:44 pm

Posted in Daily life, Technology, Toys

Good site for fans of movies & television

leave a comment »

A reader pointed out this site, which is excellent reading for those who enjoy movies and television. Great stuff.

Written by LeisureGuy

21 September 2006 at 11:23 am

Posted in Daily life, Movies & TV

Wanted: a cat

with 10 comments

Wanted not by me (and certainly not by Megs, a very territorial little girl), but by a reader:

My wife and daughter (6.5 yrs old) will absolutely NOT let me get us a dog. I love dogs… cats are another subject. I love cats with “dog” personalities…know what I mean? Dogs are predictable… cats, not so much.

Your Megs sparked an interest in me, however. I’ve done some research and feel that maybe this is a cat we can ALL love.

I’d like your observations on Megs… her strengths and faults. Is she “kid-friendly”? My daughter is quite timid around all animals and our new pet must be well behaved and mellow.

So, when you have a minute, jot down some thoughts for me? I really appreciate it. Our house must have a pet.

First, I totally agree on the interesting differences between dogs and cats—I even blogged about it a while ago. In that post, I mentioned (and linked to) Roger Tabor’s two books on cat behavior. I highly recommend that you get those. Unless you are a long-time cat person—or have immediate access to a long-time cat person—you’re going to need to help understanding your cat. These two books are immensely helpful, with enough photos to hold the interest of a 7-year-old. I suggest that you read the books before you get a cat: the books will help confirm or disconfirm the desire to have a cat, and will create an informed climate for the new cat. Read the rest of this entry »

Written by LeisureGuy

21 September 2006 at 10:57 am

Posted in Cats, Daily life

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,347 other followers

