Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Write an email now and have it sent later

with 6 comments

I could swear I blogged about this before, but darned if I can find it…

The idea is simple: you write an email (typically to yourself) and specify the date it is to be sent. Futureme.org will then store the email until the specified date, and then send it to the address you provided.

I’m writing one right now about my most absorbing interests of the moment, and listing the things I want to complete within a year, and sending it to me one year from now.

UPDATE: It just occurred to me that another good email to send to yourself for a month from now, or 3 months, or whatever is: a list of the things you’re most worried about—your current fears, in other words. I would be that most of them prove, when you read the email later, to have been groundless. But then I’m an optimist.

UPDATE 2: Frank, in the comments, suggests LetterMeLater as a good service that does not require your later letter to be a year or more later.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 September 2006 at 7:07 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cool! I have bookmarked the link and am gonna send it to all my friends. Thanks a bunch. I never knew something like this was out there :-)

    lunofajro

    29 September 2006 at 7:16 pm

  2. Be sure also to send yourself one—perhaps with a list of the friends to whom emails were sent. It will be interesting, in fact, to see whether there are changes in the friends landscape: new faces, people who drifted away, etc.

    LeisureGuy

    29 September 2006 at 7:21 pm

  3. Oh, and one other thought: if you use del.icio.us, you can readily tag the page. I just started using del.icio.us, and I find it easier (and more helpful to me) to tag pages rather than bookmark them. Reason: the number of bookmarks gets out of hand if I include things I just want to remember rather than only those sites I regularly visit. Go here to check it out. I’m surprised at how useful it is. And if you’re using Firefox, this is a terrific extension for del.icio.us.

    LeisureGuy

    29 September 2006 at 7:27 pm

  4. Very cool. I will check it out :-)

    lunofajro

    30 September 2006 at 8:05 am

  5. This works great, but emails must be scheduled at least a year ahead of time. I use LetterMeLater.com for this purpose.

    Frank

    19 February 2007 at 5:57 pm

  6. You can also try using this Outlook email reminder. It’s a plugin that lets your right click on your email and choose when you want to get back to it. Completely secure.

    Vadik

    19 April 2010 at 7:45 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,200 other followers