Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Warning: Windows Media Player 11

with 9 comments

I just installed Windows Media Player 11. Wish I hadn’t. According to their on-line help, it will play videos with this format:

mms://server/filename (for example, a file with a .wma, .wmv, .asf, or .mp3 extension)

But, based on my own experience, it will not play this particular video:

mms://mgs.mgnetwork.com/wsls/video/allenscuffle.wmv

I have no idea what the problem is, but Microsoft is willing to fix it for a minimum charge of $35. You can probably play it if you haven’t installed Windows Media Player 11. The link is on this page.

UPDATE: Well, I used CCleaner to uninstall Windows Media Player 11, which rolled me back to WMP 10. That doesn’t play it either: same problem. So I guess I may as well upgrade to WMP 11 after all.

Written by LeisureGuy

31 October 2006 at 7:58 pm

Posted in Software

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You might want to think again about installing version 11. It will force you to automatically update unless you circumvent via regedit (microsoft has directions for new key and command). It will also start two services: wmiprvse and wmpnscfg. The former can be disabled but I have not found a way to disable the latter, via msconfig, regedit, or component services. I just cannot abide with something that forces my computer to accept actions I do not want. I have found no info on the net so far as to a solution to this problem.

    Ray

    1 December 2006 at 8:36 pm

  2. The only way I found to play these videos is to install

    http://download.baofeng.com/BaoFeng.exe

    and select it to play MMS protocol related videos.

    Francisco

    18 December 2006 at 9:39 am

  3. Had the same problem.

    After couple of hours of playing with it found that It actually plays mms.

    All you need to do – in the URI change mms:// to http:// and it will play mms content just fine.

    Dmitry

    30 December 2006 at 5:36 pm

  4. Changing to http will not play if you do not have your web server pointed to the same root as your streaming server, so Dmitry’s trick won’t work on all servers (if many at all)

    Jackie

    8 January 2007 at 11:03 am

  5. I got the same problem. When I was using WMP 9, I could still play the following link.

    mms://tv.icac.org.hk/webchan/100/drama/1989/d890101ne.wmv

    The WMP 9 could connect to MMS (1755) port for streaming.

    However, once I upgrade to WMP 11, I cannot play the link any more. The WMP 11 will use HTTP (80) port only, but not the 1755 port to connect the MMS link!

    Anyone knows how to fix it?

    Anthony TSANG

    9 January 2007 at 11:26 pm

  6. I believe the only way to fix it is to fix it on the server end to use rtsp or similar and on port 80. We got lucky that helix will stream the same file on that url so we only need to figure out how to change the asx files it produces. As for playing you will likely need to find a different player.

    Microsoft posted that it is no longer supported here (chart on bottom):

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/licensing/netprokit.aspx

    Eby

    12 January 2007 at 1:30 pm

  7. i think you just got to use media player classic not window media player 11 for mss

    nick

    27 May 2007 at 2:16 pm

  8. I just set up the HW acceleration to FULL and I could solve this problem…

    HTHs

    Joao

    Joao

    30 January 2008 at 4:01 am

  9. works fine for me. as someone said before me perhaps you need to update…

    I’m on Windows Vista Ultimate using WMP 11. I updated the CODEC’s and it hasn’t been broken. Of course I also have Hauppauge video card used for my cable line. So…. shrug. Try updating CODEC’s.

    N

    23 February 2008 at 8:07 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,347 other followers