Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Which country watches the most TV?

with 6 comments

TV watching

From The Economist:

Despite an increase in entertainment choices, watching television remains as popular as ever, according to the OECD’s “Communications Outlook 2007”. In 15 of the 18 countries for which data were collected, broadcast-TV viewing increased from 1997 to 2005. Only in Spain, New Zealand and South Korea did people watch less. America takes the couch-potato crown, with households goggling at the box for an eye-straining average of 8 hours and 11 minutes every day. The nearest rival, Turkey, only manages an average of five hours a day.

Written by LeisureGuy

24 July 2007 at 7:38 pm

Posted in Daily life, Education, Media

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Boy does that ever explain how we can have such a moron for a president! How can anybody have a clue about anything when they’re clearly exhausted from all that watching? I can’t even imagine how much work it must be to watch that much, and how much must be sacrificed to make time for that inanity. People have a hard time really understanding that my wife and I really, truly don’t have cable. They still ask me if I saw so-and-so, and continue to explain to me the ins and outs of the imaginary world in the box. I don’t know how to respond.

    Seamus

    24 July 2007 at 10:14 pm

  2. Hmm… I wonder why they present the data as “per household” rather than “per capita.” It seems like the data would be thrown off based on some nations having larger families than others.

    Ethan

    25 July 2007 at 8:28 am

  3. I imagine the data are very hard to collect, even by household—wish they said something about the methodology. In fact, I would guess that different countries may have used different methodologies.

    LeisureGuy

    25 July 2007 at 9:15 am

  4. I am not doing my part. I hardly ever watch TV.

    Tim

    Tim Cuthbertson

    25 July 2007 at 3:21 pm

  5. don’t have a TV. (thank goodness)

    Joaquin

    27 July 2007 at 5:17 am

  6. I have a tv, but i watch it probably every day!

    bugahamgames

    24 November 2009 at 2:29 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,072 other followers