Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Cool-looking razors

with 5 comments

These new weishi razors look very cool indeed. (Thanks to Hyperwarp for pointing them out.) The gunmetal looks extremely nice, in a Die Hard sort of way, but I’m partial to the chrome and gold. As you would expect from the name, these are made in China—as, indeed, are many of the devices we use. I’ll give a report when I actually have with one. If you’ve used a weishi, post a report in the comments.

Written by LeisureGuy

31 August 2007 at 8:41 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve used the “original” Weishi and find it a mild, forgiving (it can even tame–relatively speaking– a Feather blade), good-for-the-DE-newbie razor. It looks and performs to all the world like a late 1950’s Gillette Superspeed (though the build quality is nowhere near the vintage Gillette), However I’m not sure these new razors are worth the prices they’re charging.

    Mantic59

    31 August 2007 at 8:50 am

  2. Oh, almost forgot. They come with a pack of Dorco blades but I haven’t tried them yet (I usually feed mine an Israeli “IP”/Crystal blade).

    Mantic59

    31 August 2007 at 8:53 am

  3. The gold’n’chrome is a rather appealing combo.

    I like gold+silver watch bands because I don’t have to agonize over choosing to wear my gold watch or silver watch.

    If I was wearing gold, SWMBO wud just tell me to change over to the silver & if I was wearing silver, SWMBO wud tell me to wear the gold.

    Gold+Silver, problem solver.

    Think part of the price increase is due to the “new” finishs being chrome & the previous models being nickel. Bit I’m probably wrong about that…
    Also the “case” the new Weishi’s come with looked pretty spiffy. Did the
    old Weishi’s come with a case also?

    Will also be very interested in reading initial reports/impressions/opinions
    from the “pioneer” buyers.

    Last thing LG, maybe it’s time to change YMMV to YMWV (w=WILL) !!!!

    hyperwarp

    31 August 2007 at 2:46 pm

  4. I ordered 10 from cottonblossom as guys at work wanted to try out DE… Don’t worry, I’ll refer them to Mantic’s videos before trying it out. (Two are for me.)

    Jeff

    2 September 2007 at 7:02 pm

  5. Hey, refer them to the Guide as well! :)

    LeisureGuy

    2 September 2007 at 7:44 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,347 other followers