Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

No more “exceptional”

with one comment

I can’t go on calling my morning shave “exceptional.” They’re pretty much all exceptional any more. (“Any more” used as a positive seems to be an Iowa-ism.) So I’m going to use the Kafeneio 10-point scale, in which (roughly) 7-10 point shaves fall into the “exceptional category.”

Today’s shave is easily a 9.6. Yesterday was cold, blustery, threatening rain, and in general unpleasant (though I did walk for 55 minutes), so this morning I insisted on Mitchell’s Wool Fat Shaving soap, and I used the Rooney Style 2 Finest brush. The lather was 9, and the brush itself was 10: the bristles are softy and yet springy, and coax out wonderful lather. The whole thing was so enjoyable I stretched out the lathering.

Then I picked up the Edwin Jagger lined Chatsworth, holding a Treet Black Beauty that had a couple of shaves on it already, and went to work. Very smooth, very easy, very close. When I rinsed after the second pass, I realized my face was already passably smooth, so the against-the-grain pass was really just polishing.

An absolutely smooth visage, which welcomed the Geo. F. Trumper Spanish Leather aftershave. What a shave! Exceptional 9.6, easily.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 October 2007 at 9:34 am

Posted in Shaving

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am honored!

    I share your experience that with good technique every shave is starting to get “exceptional”. We’re going to have to start investigating some really crap products, just to add some variety. Try the Apollo blades I sent you…that should really challenge your technique….those blades almost killed me!

    Best,

    Steve (Kafeneio)

    scourmanop

    30 October 2007 at 1:40 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,077 other followers