Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Soy-poached roast chicken

with 3 comments

Doesn’t this Mark Bittman recipe sound good?

Soy-Poached Roast Chicken
Yield 4 servings Time 40 minutes

You can serve the chicken straight out of the stockpot with the liquid as a sauce, but I like to finish it in a hot oven, where it develops a crisp, dark brown crust that takes roast chicken to another level.

  • 3 cups mushroom-flavored soy sauce, or any dark soy sauce
  • 3 cups mei kuei lu chiew or any floral off-dry white wine, like gewurztraminer or muscat
  • 2 star anise
  • 1 14-ounce box yellow rock sugar, crushed, or 1 cup white sugar
  • 3 ounces ginger (about a 5-inch knob), cut into slices and bruised with side of knife
  • 10 scallions
  • 1 chicken, 2 1/2 to 3 pounds

In stockpot or narrow 6-quart pot, combine soy sauce, rice wine, 2 cups water, star anise, sugar and ginger. Bring to rolling boil. Add 6 scallions. Lower chicken gently and slowly into liquid, breast side down.

Bring back to boil, and cook steadily for 10 minutes. Turn off heat, and turn chicken over. Let sit in hot liquid 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, trim and mince remaining scallions and preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Carefully remove chicken from liquid, and put in skillet or roasting pan. Roast 5 minutes, or until nicely browned; keep an eye on it — it can burn easily. Meanwhile, reheat liquid. When chicken is ready, carve and serve with a few spoonfuls of sauce over it. Put minced scallions into a cup of sauce; pass at table to go over white rice.

Note: You can reuse the liquid — it improves with each use — although I would strain it and replace the ginger, scallions and star anise each time, adding extra liquid. I also recommend freezing it between uses, or refrigerating it and bringing it to a rolling boil every few days.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 April 2008 at 12:29 pm

Posted in Daily life, Food, Recipes

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This sounds delicious. For me, if I can have anything I want, often a roast chicken is right on target; simple, delicious, easy and inexpensive. I was having a roast chicken last night while I was watching Barack Obama disavow his mentor of 20 years, his friend, his pastor, and the man who baptized his children and presided at his wedding. And why? For repeating things he has said many times in the past. If I were grandma, I would be worried that I were next to be disavowed. That would be 2 strikes against grandma, since he’s already thrown her racist a__ under the bus. And they have the nerve to label me as intolerant. The nerve, I say!

    Zach

    30 April 2008 at 2:14 pm

  2. I thought Obama was just making clear that he didn’t agree with Wright. I certainly would vote for him. (Wright, I mean.) Lucky he’s not running. And I don’t understand the reference to throwing his grandmother under a bus—he simply said, in the context of how racist our society in general is, that she was raised at a time and place where some amount of racism was almost unavoidable. I certainly saw racism in my own parents, and I bet that to some degree that’s affected me. They weren’t vicious, but they were raised in southern Oklahoma and were born in the teens of the last century. When was Obama’s grandmother born? Would it be surprising if she had picked up some mildly racist attitudes?

    LeisureGuy

    30 April 2008 at 3:17 pm

  3. Is that what you thought Michael? I thought something else, obviously. But I don’t want to detract from the roast chicken ;-)

    Zach

    30 April 2008 at 4:26 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,193 other followers