Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Archive for February 16th, 2010

iPhone owners: streaming video

leave a comment »

Take a look.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 February 2010 at 7:34 pm

Incredibly yummy chicken

leave a comment »

I just made (and devoured most of) a batch of Pickapeppa Chicken. It’s insanely good and quite easy, as you see.

I marinated the chicken thighs for two days. Since he used indirect heat, I just roasted the thighs on a rack in a 400º F oven. As recommended, I cooked the thighs skin side down for 20 minutes, then turned them. I checked them after 30 minutes on the second side, and they were more than done. Next time I’ll check at 25 minutes. (I imagine that his timing on the grill just reflects that the grill is not so well insulated as my oven.)

If you think cooking on the grill adds a smoky taste that you like, a small dash of liquid smoke in the marinade is the simple solution (liquid smoke itself being a simple solution of smoke in water): completely authentic smoky flavor.

I think this would be a great recipe to make with chicken wings.

This one is definitely a keeper. I particularly like that the marinade is so easy to put together.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 February 2010 at 7:27 pm

Posted in Daily life, Food, Recipes

Extremely good movie

leave a comment »

I highly recommend the movie Torso, a recounting of a true crime, chronologically told from the discovery of the eponymous body part through the trials, with flashbacks from time to time to illustrate what is being recounted by one of the characters.

In fact, it strikes me as a good date movie in that there is much to discuss about the ending.

Not (yet) available to watch instantly.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 February 2010 at 2:51 pm

Posted in Government, Law, Movies

More free eBooks

leave a comment »

Written by LeisureGuy

16 February 2010 at 2:05 pm

Posted in Books, Daily life, Software

Three excellent articles by Dean Baker

leave a comment »

Written by LeisureGuy

16 February 2010 at 2:03 pm

Our broken Congress

leave a comment »

Fascinating conversation between Lawrence Lessig and Ezra Klein. Do watch it.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 February 2010 at 12:16 pm

Posted in Congress

These sauerkrauts sound delicious

leave a comment »

Take a look. And I need to cook some duck—the one with duck fat sounded really delicious.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 February 2010 at 12:11 pm

Posted in Daily life

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,249 other followers

