Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Fitness progress

with 2 comments

So far I have lost a total of 7 lbs, not very much considering I’ve been on the program for more than 3 weeks. I talked to my diet counselor today, and she suggested that I drop the evening snack since I go to bed early (around 9:00) after eating around 6:00. That should help. And once I get into the aerobic exercises (e.g., the kettlebell swing, vigorous walking), it should go even better.

Last night I had some pseudo-meat on a stick: “BBQ Cubes On A Stick”. There were 4 sticks in the package, each with 4 cubes of whatever it was, with 2 sticks being a serving. I automatically took out two sticks for dinner, wrapped up the other two and put them in the fridge for tomorrow. As I was eating, I got to thinking about this behavior (I’m still watching me like a hawk). Normally I would have looked at the package, asked myself, “Can I eat that much comfortably?”, and answered, “Yes” and so would have eaten both servings, feeling as though it was really one serving.

I realized that I had been looking upon a “serving” as “an amount of that food that I can eat comfortably,” which is how I got to eating 3 thick-cut lamb chops for dinner: each having a net weight (sans bone) of 6 ounces, so the three were 18 ounces: 4.5 times one actual serving, which is the amount I should eat for a meal.

In fact, one can comfortably eat quite a large meal in terms of one’s actual needs (assuming you’re as sedentary as I). Indeed, that’s probably a contribution from evolution: our hunter-gatherer ancestors doubtless had many days of short rations, so when they actually had a surplus, it would have been very bad if they could not comfortably eat any more than the minimum to which they had grown accustomed. It’s good (in a sense) that we can quite comfortably eat much more food than we actually need to get through to the next meal—in those days, hundreds of thousands of years before the all-you-can-eat buffet.

But now I’m regaining the modern idea of “one serving”: the amount of whatever that I should eat.

Another thought I had is that these days I eat a well-balanced diet like clockwork: 10-12 oz of protein, 4 servings of starch, 6 servings of veggies (steamed and/or as a salad), 3 servings of fruit. I had thought about this earlier this year, but it just seemed too difficult. Now it’s a snap. I thought about why:

a. I have a definite, specific program to follow.

b. I keep track of what I eat in a food journal.

c. The fee is highly motivating: I paid for this counseling, and if I don’t lose weight, I’ll feel like a chump. So I’m being quite careful to avoid being a chump.

d. I meet with the diet counselor three times a week.

As a result: it’s easy to stick with a healthful diet..

I’m very pleased to cut out that last snack, which included a starch. The 4th starch was always a problem.

UPDATE: Thus, as is obvious, a “serving” came to mean “as much of that particular dish as I want to eat.” Totally driven by appetite: gluttony (a mortal sin). How it happens: I’m still looking for my copy of Wolinsky’s Trances People Live, and I think that will prove illuminating (as, indeed, Daniel Goleman’s Vital Lies, Simple Truths: The Psychology of Self-Deception already is).

Written by LeisureGuy

30 June 2010 at 10:58 am

Posted in Daily life, Fitness, Food

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am not sure if I mentioned it but the Nopal powder for weight loss issues should be taken as follows: A tablespoon in the morning 30 minutes prior to breakfast and one tablespoon prior to your evening meal (30 min prior).

    I am not sure what your expectation on diet are but to be loosing 2 Lb per week is very good and you should be commended. This is a healthy way to lose weight in my opinion and in 25 weeks you would be just about at your ideal weight. The pounds tend to shed more quickly in the beginning and then with the weight off, the exercise might become easier to regain that muscle.

    Just my thoughts

    nick

    30 June 2010 at 12:04 pm

  2. Thanks, Nick. I am impatient, I realize, but… I guess impatience is hard to resist, but of course, I should just continue. As my grandmother told me often, “Slow and steady wins the race.”

    LeisureGuy

    30 June 2010 at 1:11 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,072 other followers