Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Terrific shave

with 2 comments

Sometimes the planets align and a shave turns out exceptionally well. This morning was one of those. A superb lather from the Valobra shave stick (recommended!) and the Simpson Persian Jar 2 Super. Then the Merkur Slant, with a used Swedish Gillette blade, did three extremely smooth and fault-free passes, followed by a small splash of Alt Innsbruck. Terrific.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 August 2010 at 7:44 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very, very nice!

    I finished my Valobra shave stick not too long ago, must get another one. As for the blade, I found a store selling Gillette Swedes for £0.50 a pack! Needless to say, I purchased all they had (twelve packs). I’m really impressed with them – a great combination of sharpness and smoothness.

    It’s funny you should have used a Simpson as I’ve been looking into getting one but cannot decide between the Chubby and the Duke. I’m a face latherer so I’m looking for backbone but nice, soft tips.

    I’ve ready many good things about the Alt Innsbruck and have it high on my ‘to buy’ list. I intrigued by the idea of tobacco and menthol.

    P.S. The NEW you sent me is still going strong ;)

    Gavin.

    Gavin Groom

    30 August 2010 at 3:11 pm

  2. Delighted that the NEW is doing well.

    I, too, am a face latherer. I don’t like the Simpson Chubby or the Duke as much as I like a longer loft. The PJ2 shown is quite nice, but my favorite is the Rooney Style 2. I have Finest, but Super Silvertip is quite nice.

    LeisureGuy

    30 August 2010 at 4:07 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,193 other followers