Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Private blog as a journal

with 6 comments

I haven’t seen this idea discussed anywhere. I got it from The Wife.

Free blog software (WordPress.com, Blogger.com, et al.) can be used as a journal by simply making the blog private. Blog software offers quite a few benefits as a journal:

  • Can access your journal from any computer, smartphone, iPad, etc.
  • Can easily include photos, videos, etc.
  • Can readily search the journal
  • Can tag entries with tags and also put an entry into one or more categories
  • Every entry automatically date- and time-stamped
  • If TSA seizes your computer, your journal’s not on it

Journals can quite useful. Some possibilities:

  • College-years journal
  • Baby journal
  • Project journal – could try a joint journal, just for project team members, but I think it could become a time sink; private journals probably better
  • Work journal – always good to have a timely record kept outside the workplace, not on a work computer but kept where you can always access it from a home computer as well as from a work computer (not to mention iPad, iPhone, etc.)

This strikes me as an extremely useful idea. I personally prefer WordPress.com but The Wife is a big fan of Blogger.com. Give it a go.

Written by LeisureGuy

27 November 2010 at 9:50 am

Posted in Daily life, Technology

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The work journal is working really well for me. I take meeting notes, record what I’ve been working on, or thoughts about what I will be working on next, upload images, save URLs, etc. – whatever I tend to lose track of.

    the wife

    27 November 2010 at 10:23 am

  2. I started blogging really as a personal journal. I had the rather narcissistic idea of leaving some written legacy of my life for my kids. But what I quickly discovered is that the public nature of a blog demands a certain intellectual and literary rigor…stuff has to be interesting for others to read it. And previous attempts at journaling had always produced a very whiny, self-indulgent record -.a byproduct, I suppose, of the fact that one feels a certain freedom to express just about any stupidity since the journal is “private”. But I would often go back to what I had written a few weeks later and feel rather embarrassed by it.

    My main concerns with using the private function of a blog then would be access and confidentiality. On the other hand, if I applied the same rigor to it as to a public blog (never write anything you wouldn’t be proud to stand by), the issue would be moot.

    Steve

    28 November 2010 at 2:14 am

  3. I would think that work journals would appeal to you: a journal per client that you use to capture conversations, agreements, deliverables, etc., as you discuss them, and to which you can later refer.

    LeisureGuy

    28 November 2010 at 6:43 am

  4. I have often thought about keeping a private journal. So many things I could put in it. And it might be self-relavatory after a while.

    scott

    28 November 2010 at 5:38 pm

  5. It does tend to reveal patterns in one’s behavior of which he may be unaware.

    LeisureGuy

    29 November 2010 at 6:02 am

  6. I do use a work journal, but it’s just a Moleskin notebook on which I jot salient points at meetings and To do’s. Nothing literary or self-revelatory.

    Steve

    30 November 2010 at 6:22 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,293 other followers