Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Great shave

with 7 comments

This morning just a plain traditional wet shave—and it was great. Wonderful warm and fragrant lather from Vintage Blades LLC shaving soap, thanks in part to the Plisson Chinese Grey brush, then three smooth passes with the Pils holding a Swedish Gillette blade. Finally, a splash of Alt Innsbruck and I’m off for my weigh in.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 December 2010 at 9:42 am

Posted in Shaving

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good luck with your weigh in. hope its a number you’ll like.

    jonathan

    29 December 2010 at 11:54 am

  2. Hey Michael,
    I just finished your book and overall I liked it very much and read it in about a day and a half. For my critique I would have preferred if you mentioned dipping the tips of the brush in water as an alternative to dribbling tap water into it. I found it works better to dip the tips and Trumpers, Castle Forbes, and others recommend this. You mention you like to use MR GLO after the shower, but I like to use it first thing during shower and then put on conditioner or similar on face. And lastly your advice to try as many blades as possible I’d have to disagree. Another well experienced shaver recommends starting with only the tried and true blades the 6-7 original sampler. I’d agree, however I have tried and liked most of your current favorite blades, mostly the east European ones. I would recommend those as 2nd tier blades to try after the initial 6-7. You can expect that a shaver will usually receive a good shave with those. However there are numerous 3rd tier blades – primarily those from the Middle East or India that just kill me every time I use them. Shaving is so unpleasurable to use those blades that I stopped experimenting with them and gave them away. I would recommend that 3rd tier blades are only to be experimented by well experienced shavers and not for newbies.

    J Dogg

    30 December 2010 at 12:18 pm

  3. I read the book too. I have to agree with Michael that one should initially use a blade that works reasonably well for them. Some would say Derby, others an I.P. blade, or maybe something entirely different. Then after technique is mastered, venturing into as many blades as possible to possibly discover a “best blade.” I am currently in that phase, and keep a note pad of my opinion of each brand. I don’t know that there are accepted or agreed upon “tiers.” So much of this is in the eye of the beholder, and what works for one may not work for another. Experimentaion is key.

    Ryan

    30 December 2010 at 1:13 pm

  4. I’m not disagreeing with you or Ryan or Michael. All I’m saying is there should be an alternative viewpoint included. My view and from others is that, a newbie short on cash buying a starter set shouldn’t buy the biggest blade assortment available because if you buy a bunch of cheap blades from cheap factories well you can guess what will happen.

    J Dogg

    30 December 2010 at 2:39 pm

  5. Good thoughts and good comments. The next edition will include some of these thoughts, in one way or another.

    Speaking as one for whom some of the “standard” blades did not work very well (Derby, Merkur, Personna/Israelis), I am glad I tried some of the excellent Russian blades.

    LeisureGuy

    30 December 2010 at 3:35 pm

  6. Thanks Michael for taking the time to consider my suggestions. Despite my critique which is actually picking at rather minor details, the overall book is a fantastic guide. I can’t stress that enough and thanks for being the only person to put such a manual together for publication. I might have to pick up your cooking book next…

    I also like how you did scientific research to counter the 1 star rating from the reader on amazon of the 1st edition. I don’t think anybody could give a low rating for ingrowns again. And who knew that flour and refined sugar cause acne based on a study?

    J Dogg

    30 December 2010 at 4:19 pm

  7. In fact, I think your suggestions are right on the mark, in general. I think you’ll find the 5th edition stronger. :)

    That 1-star rating mysteriously vanished. Perhaps someone at Amazon noticed that the rating applied only to the 1st edition, now long gone, and that it was irrelevant for the current edition. But I am grateful to the guy for kicking me into action in a direction I had not considered.

    LeisureGuy

    30 December 2010 at 5:48 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,327 other followers