Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A fine shave

with 4 comments

The tools that produced a superlative shave this morning. (I directed.) A fine lather as always from the Irisch Moos, this time ably assisted by the terrific little Gerson brush. Three passes with the Merkur Slant Bar holding a Swedish Gillette blade, a splash of Irisch Moos, and I’m off to my last visit under the reducing contract: I now go on maintenance. (In fact, I still have a few pounds to lose, so I’ll take care of that on my own.)

Written by LeisureGuy

28 February 2011 at 10:46 am

Posted in Daily life, Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m wondering if you’ve noticed any objective differences (e.g., design) or any subjective differences (shaving comfort) as compared to the Hofritz slant bar? (I have only the Merkur slant bar.) Kind regards, //Arnold

    Arnold ZEMAN

    28 February 2011 at 12:23 pm

  2. There are subtle differences in design (and tomorrow I’ll try for a close-up to show what I mean), but so far as shaving: no difference whatsoever, so far as I can tell.

    LeisureGuy

    28 February 2011 at 2:02 pm

  3. How’s the every-day-slant experiment going? Firmly in the ‘can’t use it every day’ camp, myself. Fantastic, though, on those occasions when you must shave in a rush. Two passes with the slant = (almost) three with the Futur, or other. If I try to go three passes with the slant, though, there just might be a little irritation. There just might, though, be a lot.

    Perhaps it’s a technique thing. I’ll hit the slant up again tomorrow & see if a bit of extra care makes the difference.

    Tony

    28 February 2011 at 5:24 pm

  4. I’m not actually using it every day, though I did plan to use it again tomorrow, to set up the Meehan splash. I am using it more often, but I simply have too many other razors that I also like.

    LeisureGuy

    28 February 2011 at 6:17 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,193 other followers