Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A new soap, and back to the Semogue 2000

with 7 comments

If you look closely, you’ll see the new bar of soap I just got. I ordered my Mühle R41 from TraditionalShaving.com in Ireland (site has been down the last couple of days). Given the shipping, I looked around for something else to order, saw a bar of Italian shaving soap—it sounded good, favored by barbers, etc. And it was only $20, which for a shaving soap is definitely in the ballpark. (Floris London shaving soap runs more than $30 just for the refill puck, not in the bowl, for example. TOBS is a more reasonable $14 for refill alone, but $20 didn’t seem unreasonable.)

I didn’t think about it at the time, but photographs of things are generally much smaller than the things themselves. I thought I was getting a regular-sized bar of the soap, like the bars of Virgilio Valobra, another Italian soft soap that’s quite good and highly recommended. It’s the consistency of putty or soft clay, so you take the bar and mash it into your shaving bowl. Great stuff and the bitter almond fragrance is (to me) quite wonderful. Plus it makes terrific lather.

But, as you see, it turned out that the “bar” I ordered, while having the same proportions as the Virgilio Valobra shaving soap, was gargantuan in comparison: 1000g vs. 150g: almost 7 times the size.

Withal, it is an extremely good soap: same bitter almond fragrance was Virgilio Valobra and Figaro and Cella and doubtless countless other Italian soft soaps. And it also is like putty in my hands: I tugged a chunk off one end, mashed it into the shaving bowl shown, and was ready to go.

Someone commented about having read how good the soap was, so after I had it here, I read up on it. (I bought it just based on the catalog description. I know, I know.) It turns out that I was fortunate to buy the red diamond extra super Vitos instead of the green diamond super version. Both are tallow-based, which tends to produce very good soaps, but the red Extra version also has glycerin added. It really does produce quite a luxurious lather, and at this price, you can afford to be generous. I’ve already tore off a good-sized wad for my friend David, who arrives later today. (Light blogging next couple of days, I expect.)

This is my second Semogue 2000. I sold the first when I couldn’t understand boar brushes. What was I thinking? I’m really enjoying this one, but it won’t be fully broken in for at least a month. Still, I got a good Creamy Lather today, and the comfort of the iKon Bulldog open-comb was a godsend after the harsh aggressiveness of the new-model Mühle 41 (my reaction, YMMV).

Three smooth passes, with the brush revisiting the soap for the last pass. Then a splash of the Myrsol that I got from GiftsAndCare.com, and I’m ready to continue frantically cleaning and organizing the apartment.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 June 2011 at 7:00 am

Posted in Shaving

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i heard very good things about Vitos. while i’m interested in getting some i already have a block of Cella. can you tell any difference between these two Italian soaps?

    jonathan

    29 June 2011 at 10:52 am

  2. Could you please email me? (or include your email address when you make a comment?) Thanks.

    LeisureGuy

    29 June 2011 at 10:57 am

  3. email sent

    jonathan

    29 June 2011 at 11:35 am

  4. Off the topic, but leisureguy what do you think of the new PILS head Ikon razors greg is selling on his website?

    J Dogg

    29 June 2011 at 3:34 pm

  5. I have a PIls,which gives a very good shave, but with the tremor the blade angle seems bad. I’ll have to bring it out tomorrow and give it a go. I have heard that the iKon version is a mild shave. The Pils is average aggressiveness.

    LeisureGuy

    29 June 2011 at 3:55 pm

  6. So what is that Myrsol scent like? Anything you can compare it to?

    Mike

    2 July 2011 at 7:01 pm

  7. It’s like a traditional barber shop aftershave. Old-timey.

    LeisureGuy

    2 July 2011 at 7:25 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,345 other followers