Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Ginger’s Garden & the Pils

with 6 comments

I took my new Thäter brush for a spin this morning: extremely nice feel and good lather from Ginger’s Garden Almond Cream shaving soap—nice soap with muted fragrance and good lather.

I haven’t used the Pils lately, but this morning I once again realized why I like it so much: it does a superb job of shaving. This is the stainless model, which I then had plated in gold. The Swedish Gillette blade is previously used but still did a smooth job.

Three smooth passes, a splash of Acqua di Parma, and we’re off a day’s adventures.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 June 2011 at 8:31 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It looks like you and I will soon have matching Gold PILS razors. I finally got tired of the rusting/tea stains and will be contacting Razor Emporium to plate it in gold.

    Phil Huntsinger

    2 July 2011 at 1:35 pm

  2. I think it turned out well. Weird that their “stainless” rusts so readily.

    LeisureGuy

    2 July 2011 at 1:42 pm

  3. It looks very sharp. I thought about plating it in nickel but then thought if I was going to pay and have it plated, I may as well change the look.

    Phil Huntsinger

    2 July 2011 at 4:39 pm

  4. Thank you for posting about my Almond Cream Shaving Soap. Lots of my wet shaver customers enjoy it.

    Irena aka soapbuddy

    2 July 2011 at 10:35 pm

  5. Stainless can still rust unless its #316 Marine Grade. Even then, the blades themselves can leave deposits of rust that may need to be cleaned off with a tooth brush. How’s the gold holding up, Michael?

    Matt

    7 July 2011 at 3:03 am

  6. Gold is doing quite well, and since having it plated I’ve had no problem with rust deposits. Great job. And the rhodium plating is also doing well.

    LeisureGuy

    7 July 2011 at 3:47 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,191 other followers