Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A super Super Speed shave

with 2 comments

I had been avoiding l’Occitane’s Cade shaving soap because I had not been able to get so good a lather as I wanted, though (as Steve of Kafeneio found) it makes a fine superlather with l’Occitane Cade shaving cream. But I got to thinking: “The Feather blade turned out to be fine now that I’ve had more practice, so maybe l’Occitane’s shaving soap will turn out to be fine if I use Creamy Lather technique.” And lo! it was!

Taking my time loading the Vie-Long horsehair brush, not worrying about the lather slopping down across the bowl into the sink, and keeping the brush briskly at work on the soap, I did indeed get a very dense Creamy Lather—not in great abundance, but the brush was filled with plenty of good lather for a shave. And I do like the Cade fragrance.

The flare-tip Super Speed (and I don’t think that it has a red tip, though the paint is worn away so much I can’t be sure) did a fine job, thanks in part to the Personna 74 blade (thanks, Zach!). Three smooth passes and a very fine shave.

A pass of the alum bar, which I’ve resumed using for some reason, and a splash of Paul Sebastian.

I got out my full collection of Super Speeds and, with the English Gillette Rocket and Aristocrat Jr., I have 6 razors, just the right number for a week o’ shaves. So next week will be Super Speed week all over… well, all over my apartment, I suppose. “All over America” seems over-ambitious.

Very good progress on the fifth edition once I actually printed out the pages and started working with paper instead of the screen. You just can’t move around a file so swiftly as you can flip through pages, plus it’s easier to keep track of where you are and what you’re doing when you’re marking up printed pages. It’s one of those things I know but periodically must relearn.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 July 2011 at 8:35 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow… that soap container really tarnished. I wouldn’t have suspected that – it can’t be actual silver… I’ve got the same one and is still pretty much like new. The cade soap did not score highly for me so it gets little use.

    Dandaman

    31 July 2011 at 3:11 pm

  2. I’m pretty sure the soap dish is aluminum.

    LeisureGuy

    31 July 2011 at 5:03 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,079 other followers