Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Otoko and 1904

with 3 comments

I do like Otoko Organics shaving soap. I got a very fine lather using the Vie-Long brush shown, the mate to my Pogonotomy.com 2011 brush. The 1904 with the Treet Durasharp carbon-steel blade did a fine job—second shave on the blade, no rust visible to naked eye. Once again, at the end of the shave I swished the head in high-proof rubbing alcohol so that it would be totally dry.

Very nice shave indeed, and a dab of Saint Charles Shave’s Aspect was a fine finish: my skin feels quite nice.

In other shaving news: I found a problem in the “final” PDF, made the correction, uploaded the “final final with corrections” and now am awaiting approval from CreateSpace, which I hope to receive late today. I will then release the kraken the book for printing. I’m told that it can take several business days before the book appears on Amazon, though the CreateSpace storefront will be immediately open.

Yesterday I retired the 4th edition, though there may some still in the pipeline. Still, no new sales should go through.

I’m greatly relieved to have this edition done, and I think this version is really complete. I’m hoping that this can remain stable for a few years, but of course  turnover among vendors—some closing down, more opening up, to which I allude in the book—may require a new edition sooner.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 August 2011 at 6:41 am

Posted in Books, Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on completing the 5th edition. On the forums there seems now so many conflicting opinions on different aspects of shaving that I imagine its easy for a newb to be overwhelmed and confused. Your book sounds like whats needed, a neat tidy easily digestible guide to point the way.

    Kevin

    30 August 2011 at 10:16 am

  2. Creating a consistent and reliable guide for the newbie was certainly my goal. In the 5th edition I address more directly the idea that everything you need to know is on the Internet, and it’s along the lines you suggest: inconsistent information of unknown reliability, plus recondite exotica discussed at length with very basic information omitted or difficult to find. Plus lots of repetition of advice in addition to all the variation. I thought a book that takes the novice through basic information in a logical and organized way, while still pointing to the myriad resources on the Web, would be a viable approach. So far, so good.

    LeisureGuy

    30 August 2011 at 10:26 am

  3. One thing I noticed about the Otoko is that a stiff brush picks up soap better while charging and thus produces a better lather. Also try undercharging like this say 10 seconds only. And then produce a wet – almost bad lather and try shaving. It produces slick and protective lather. I’m still experimenting like this but it seems it’s what the manufacturer directs.

    J Dogg

    13 September 2011 at 12:05 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,273 other followers