Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Queen Charlotte Soap & the Frank Shaving brush

with 9 comments

Extremely nice shave today, beginning with the lather. Queen Charlotte Soaps are quite nice: tallow-based, with shea butter, glycerin, and other goodies—take a look:

Saponified tallow, water, saponified castor oil and shea butter, glycerin, saponified stearic acid, cocoa butter, and coconut oil, essential oil(s), saponified avocado oil, palm oil, and olive oil, aloe vera extract, kaolin clay, lanolin, vitamin E. Green Irish Tweed Type contains fragrance, not essential oil. Vostok contains menthol crystals.

Good stuff and with my new Frank Shaving brush (selected by a commenter who favors these brushes) did a fine job—I even got a creamy lather, thanks no doubt in part to the soap. I did it the usual way: when loading the wet brush, brush the soap vigorously and at length. Presto! Creamy lather.

The lather showed no signs of dying on the brush. I am now officially a Frank Shaving enthusiast.

The razor is the Lady Gillette, but I got it in blue, not pink, so it’s okay. With a previously used Swedish Gillette blade I did four very smooth and pleasant passes—the lather was a treat—and after the shave, a hot-water rinse, a cold-water rinse, the alum bar, and a final rinse, dry, and good splash of Saint Charles Shave Refined aftershave: cedar, oak moss, and orange, extremely pleasant.

Man, a good shave is a great way to start the day!

Written by LeisureGuy

30 September 2011 at 7:51 am

Posted in Shaving

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good morning, Michael!
    +10C (50F) in Moscow. What about sunny CA?
    Today is Friday!

    As far as I noticed, your shaving routine takes place somewhere between 7.30 – 8.00 am. of your time.

    Valery

    30 September 2011 at 8:01 am

  2. The time I shave varies somewhat, but that’s about right in general.

    LeisureGuy

    30 September 2011 at 8:17 am

  3. I am glad to hear that the Frank finest is working well for you. Have you done a side by side test lather with the silvertip for the sake of comparison? How would you compare Frank finest knots to finest knots in other brands?

    Dirty Texan

    30 September 2011 at 9:22 am

  4. “Finest” is a term of art in badger brushes. The Rooney “Finest” and the “finest” of some other brush maker are likely to be completely independent. The only “Finest” I own is my Rooney. Perhaps I’ll do a side-by-side with the Frank brush.

    LeisureGuy

    30 September 2011 at 10:09 am

  5. I read a lot of quite negative words about Frank’s finest….even do not know what to think on it.

    KanzlerBismarck

    30 September 2011 at 10:11 am

  6. I had one that didn’t seem to support the lather, but now I’m thinking I didn’t give it enough of a chance. This one did quite well. Certainly at the price they are worth a try.

    LeisureGuy

    30 September 2011 at 10:19 am

  7. Michael, thanks to your enthusiasm with Saint Charles Shave, I also decided to buy some AS from them.
    I made severat attempts to communicate to them via Twitter to discuss the overseas shipping, but with NO any result. They keep silence.
    Would be you so kind to submit me the reliable direct contact with a responsable person in SCS, who is in a position to take the decisions? Of course, if you have it.
    Thank you!

    KanzlerBismarck

    30 September 2011 at 1:45 pm

  8. I would be happy to discuss International shipping options with you via email at wendy@saintcharlesshave.com. There are some alcohol containing products we can not ship overseas.

    Anonymous

    30 September 2011 at 6:22 pm

  9. Michael, thank you very much indeed!
    Due to your respect, Wendy found me and we have established communication.

    If this thing goes well, which three of AS range could you recommend? You and me belong more or less to the same age generation, therefore I trust your taste ))

    KanzlerBismarck

    30 September 2011 at 7:04 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,330 other followers