Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Great shave: brush, blade, and all

with 3 comments

A wonderful shave today, which began with soaking my Vie-Long boar+horsehair brush while I showered. I washed my beard with MR GLO first, of course, then worked up a really great lather from the Prairie Creations tallow+lanolin soap. This brush is a pleasure to use—in part because it’s a brush, not (as the Semogue 2000 was) just a clump of bristles going every which way. (I do understand that some Semogue 2000 brushes are good, so I imagine that I got a brush from a novice maker: no quality control at Semogue, or that brush would never have made it out of the factory.)

The lather stood up well during the shave and I had no problem getting three passes. After the first pass with the Slant, I realized that the Swedish Gillette blade in it was on its last legs, so I replaced it with a Treet Black Beauty carbon-steel blade and finished the shave in fine style. That really is a fine blade for me.

I rinsed the razor head at the end of the shave, swished it in 99% rubbing alcohol, and put it up for the next shave. Then I rinsed my face, dried, and applied a generous splash of Saint Charles Shave Lavender aftershave: an excellent fragrance.

I go see the ophthalmologist for my pre-op measurements today. Surgery the 16th.

Written by LeisureGuy

31 October 2011 at 7:46 am

Posted in Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like that Vie-Long brush, too. It’s a workhorse that cleans easily and dries quickly. In every video I’ve ever seen of the Semogue 2000, the bristles are splayed like you describe. Everyone seems to ignore it, but like you, it’s an aggravating flaw in my opinion.

    zaine_ridling

    31 October 2011 at 11:56 am

  2. I have come to the conclusion that the Semogue 2000 is not in fact a brush: it’s a wad of bristles attached to a handle. A brush is more than that, with considerations of alignment, working together, etc., important to its brushhood.

    LeisureGuy

    31 October 2011 at 12:31 pm

  3. The Semogue 2000 is a BSO: brush-shaped object. Not a brush.

    LeisureGuy

    31 October 2011 at 1:02 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,294 other followers