Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Klar Seifen again, with the S3S

with 8 comments

I have a full-sze puck of Klar Seifen as well as the soap in the tin. I assume they’re the same stuff, but the lather today was not the equal of yesterday’s. Of course, I used today the Vie-Long boar+horsehair brush, so perhaps that accounts for it. I’ll try this soap again soon, with a badger brush.

I got the S3S and enjoyed a very nice shave indeed: the mass of the head makes kfor an easy, smooth shave, some credit for which must go to the newish Personna 74 blade. Three passes, a splash of Blenheim Bouquet, and I’m good for the day.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 November 2011 at 7:44 am

Posted in Shaving

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re making it really hard to save the s3s for x-mas…

    J Dogg

    29 November 2011 at 8:21 am

  2. Today’s performance aside, do you like that brush? I thought getting of a horse-boar, and I do like the V-L pro brush format.

    How does the Blenheim Bouquet aftershave scent compare to the cream’s?

    Matt Smith

    29 November 2011 at 9:28 am

  3. Oh, yeah, I do like the brush very much. The problem may be this soap—its formulation does seem different from the soap in the tin, though why they would vary is odd. And this brush is still pretty new and not fully broken in. I’ve used it with good success on other soaps—I’ll put it in rotation more often. It’s definitely worth trying, IMO. Much better, I think, than the Semogue boar brushes.

    LeisureGuy

    29 November 2011 at 9:34 am

  4. I just received my Vie-Long horsehair+boar brush last week. I am really enjoying it.
    Yesterday I received my Christmas present early. The Dirtybird scuttle used it this morning so nice to have warm lather for three passes.
    Keep up the good work.

    David

    David L

    29 November 2011 at 1:27 pm

  5. Hope this is an ok place to ask….LeisureGuy, you’re the only one I know of who has had the iKon S3S and the OSS in hand. So, your assessment if you please. Hold out for the OSS that is due next month? Thanks, and sorry if you have already entertained this question. Jim

    Jim

    29 November 2011 at 1:35 pm

  6. First, let me assure you that all questions are welcome—well, all serious questions—and I don’t mind repeating the answers because I learn as I answer.

    No one has actually asked that, though Mantic59 would like a comparative review of the S3S and the H2O. So I’ll just throw the OSS into the mix.

    The thing is, the S3S and the OSS have very different feels. I would say that the OSS feels more like a regular razor, albeit a very good regular razor: comfortable shave, nice balance, solid construction, and so on. But the S3S has a very different feel because of the mass of the head. Normally, one would use the canonical solution (get both), but at these prices I understand your hesitation.

    My advice would be to go with the S3S: it really has a unique feel and the shave is excellent. The OSS also gives an excellent shave, but it does not feel so unusual. In fact, I’ve shaved with the Feather Stainless and thought at first I was using the OSS. But there’s no doubt if you’re using the S3S. Plus the base plate makes a dynamite paperweight. :)

    LeisureGuy

    29 November 2011 at 4:51 pm

  7. Thank you LeisureGuy; for this (your response) and your blog. Will follow. Jim

    Anonymous

    29 November 2011 at 6:56 pm

  8. An s3s may be hard to find now

    Hyperwarp

    30 November 2011 at 7:56 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,345 other followers