Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Perfection of my standard breakfast

with 2 comments

My ever-evolving standard breakfast. Full account:

At some point in the evening, I set up the morning’s breakfast:

For tea: 1-pint mug with a teabag in it, and fill electric kettle with water.

For cereal: 1-pint saucepan into which I put 1.5 Tbsp of each of the following (and I have a 1.5 Tbsp measuring spoon, so this is easy):

• Flax seed
• Chia seed
• Pumpkin seed
• Sliced almonds
• Hulled hemp seed
• Wheat germ

2 Tbsp of each of the following (and I also have a 2 Tbsp measuring spoon):

• Rolled oats
• Oat bran

The above totals 13 Tbsp, or almost 7/8 cup. To that I add (again, this is in the evening preceding breakfast):

• 1/2 tsp turmeric (strong anti-inflammatory)
• 1.5 tsp high-fat cocoa powder (Penzeys)
• a few grindings black pepper (helps utilize tumeric)
• 1 Tbsp blackstrap molasses (flavor + 20% of the MDR of both calcium and iron; good source of potassium as well)

I measure the blackstrap using the large spoon I use to eat the cereal, and I just leave the tablespoon (and blackstrap) sitting on top of the cereal overnight, awaiting the morning cup of boiling water.

After the cereal has been cooked the next morning, I will stir in:

2-3 Tbsp homemade pepper sauce
1 tsp true extra-virgin organic olive oil (grower-bottled) [I'm stopping this for now until I hit target weight again. - LG]

The next morning: Assembly

When morning comes, I cut a small slab of Plugrá butter (an European-style butter, unsalted and 82% butter-fat content instead of the 80% common to American-style butters), and cut it in half: half goes into my 8″ nonstick egg skillet, half is saved for the next day. I get out an egg and put it where it’s handy. [I'm going to experiment with coconut oil after reading this article. - LG]

I turn on the kettle, and leave the kitchen to shower, shave, and dress.

Back in the kitchen, I turn on the kettle again, which now boils almost immediately. I turn the burner on under the cereal, and when the kettle boils, I fill the tea mug with the boiling water and then add 1 cup of the hot water to the cereal, pouring slowly so I don’t splash it out.

I stir the cereal, and it thickens quickly. When the cereal’s cooked—about 3-4 minutes—I remove it from the heat, stir in the pepper sauce and extra-virgin organic olive oil. (I formerly used butter here, but after reading Extra Virginity, which I highly recommend, I switched to true EVOO.)

The egg pan goes onto the hot burner, and when the butter in the pan has melted, I break the egg into the pan, salt and pepper it, and cook it over easy: once the first side is set, flip the egg and cook the other side. Then slide the egg onto the cereal, top with Bac’Uns, and remove the teabag from the tea. (You can practice egg-flipping using dried beans or lentils over the sink.)

Breakfast is ready!

The cereal turns out to be really tasty. The combination of cocoa powder, pepper sauce, and blackstrap molasses gives it considerable depth of flavor, and the nutritional value of the whole breakfast is quite high.

Hulled hemp seed (which I get at Whole Foods and which is somewhat pricey) is probably optional, but I like it and think it’s a good addition for the omega-3 and other goodies.

One possible addition: 1.5 Tbsp chopped walnuts, pecans, or pistachios—black walnuts would add an interesting flavor.

You’ll note that the only salt used is a small pinch on the egg. That salt is optional.

I think this is a solid breakfast and it comes together in about the same amount of time it takes to make buttered toast.

Written by LeisureGuy

25 December 2011 at 7:47 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. will try this breakfast when i return home from the holidays. why not pre mix a whole bunch and store in a glass sealable container? i’m guessing a lot of these items i can get at any health food store? happy new year Michael!

    jonathan

    14 January 2012 at 7:00 pm

  2. I thought of that, but I think it would be difficult to keep seeds, powders, and flakes well mixed. And, to tell the truth, I enjoy the evening ritual of measuring out the morrow’s meal as a final task of the evening, putting all in readiness for the morning. It settles one for the night: “Everything in its place, all is ready for me tomorrow.” And then, of course, the morning efficiency as described, along with the daily challenge of flipping the egg—hey! you win some, you draw the others. Never a total loss.

    LeisureGuy

    14 January 2012 at 7:23 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,072 other followers