Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Weber and Klar Seifen

with 9 comments

Once again, a truly wonderful shave. My pre-shave soap this morning was a bar of Dr. Bronner’s soap, and the lather with the Vie-Long horsehair shaving brush and Klar Seifen shaving soap was excellent—horsehair brushes are overachievers in the lather-making department.

Three passes with the Weber holding a Personna Medical Prep blade and I have an extremely smooth face. I find these blades okay, but others do a smoother job for me—YMMV, of course: blade performance is notoriously shaver-dependent.

A good splash of Klar Seifen Klassik aftershave, and I’m ready for the day.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 December 2011 at 7:01 am

Posted in Shaving

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry to here you’r not liking the Med Prep’s if you find there not something you want to keep I’ll be happy to buy them from you since I gave you the link to the “big” box on W_E.

    bradclarkston

    30 December 2011 at 12:29 pm

  2. They actually are not bad, but I had hoped for a transcendent experience. :) I think the Astras are better, but these also work.

    LeisureGuy

    30 December 2011 at 1:07 pm

  3. I believe I have the same brush as in this photo. It does pick up lather like a terror… but it’s a bit too prickly on my face to be high on my list. Much prefer my 3 band Emillion.

    Dandaman

    30 December 2011 at 1:51 pm

  4. Horsehair is definitely more resilient than badger, which I imagine accounts for some of horsehair’s lathering ability. You might try a horsehair brush with more mane hair (which is softer). But as with so many things in shaving, personal preferences differ widely. I didn’t like the Emillion at all: knot was too stiff and dense for me.

    LeisureGuy

    30 December 2011 at 3:04 pm

  5. The head of that Weber, would you compare it to a Merkur.?

    reynald

    30 December 2011 at 6:46 pm

  6. @Leisureguy Is your Emillion a later, two-band version? I only have one two-band (an Emperor III), but I found it also too stiff. It makes me suspect I prefer three band – but a sample size of one is not much for me to stand on.

    Dandaman

    30 December 2011 at 7:01 pm

  7. @reynald: I’ll shave with a Merkur Classic head today and compare to Weber. Check shave of the day post.

    @Dandaman: I’ve never really gotten into band counting, so I don’t know whether it was two-band or three-band. But I didn’t like it. OTOH, I love my Rooney Super Silvertips in Styles 1, 2, and 3.

    LeisureGuy

    31 December 2011 at 5:50 am

  8. I received a new box of Personna’s from robbinsinstruments.com but it’s the Lab’s not the Med Prep’s I doubt the shipping/warehouse people knows the difference as it’s the same box and wrappers. I’ve got the right ones before from them so it must be a shipping mistake.

    The real Med Prep’s say “For Hospital use – made in the USA” on the bottom half of the blade while the Lab’s only say “Personna – made in the USA” on all four spots.

    The Lab’s have the same coating but the Med’s have a special pre-wash they go through before the coating. I know there’s a few of the vocal minority on the B&B forum that says there the same but I can tell a difference in drag/smoothness.

    I have a few Med Pre’s left, I can send you a couple if you have the Labs and want to give the Med Prep’s a try.

    bradclarkston

    1 January 2012 at 10:55 am

  9. I got the wrong blades. I’m getting in touch with Robbins.

    LeisureGuy

    1 January 2012 at 11:47 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,292 other followers