Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Chicken-Noodle Soup, my way

with 3 comments

I’m feeling a little queasy from an unwise lunch choice (fried calamari steak sandwich, french fries), and there’s nothing in the house—have to do shopping since none done since prior to surgery.

But in talking to The Wife, I got onto the idea of a soup, using what I have. The ultimate outcome:

3 qt saucepan, holding about 1/2 cup leftover black rice

Add:

what’s left of butter, about 2 pats (I’ll add some EVOO at end, when I use the immersion blender)
2 large peeled shallots (that I bought to have on hand)
10 peeled garlic cloves (ditto)
small piece leftover onion, chopped
chopped leftover cruditès (carrot & celery only, jicama gone, just as well)
handful chopped celery from stash

Sauté that for a while, discover a regular plastic vegetable bag of braising greens, which will beef up the soup a lot. Now I’m really looking forward to it. I plan to beat in a couple of eggs for protein. (Three eggs left, so one for breakfast: clearing out fridge perfectly.)

I add about 5 cups water, then a rounded Tbsp of Penzeys Chicken Soup Base. When the water’s hot, I add the braising greens, pushing them into the liquid until they wilt. There’s a great variety, and the leaf shapes are amazingly intricate: extremely fractal and quite different from each other. I suddenly realized that people who subsist on frozen and otherwise prepared foods never see stuff like this.

Back to food. With all the greens in, along with a couple of leaves of red chard I had, I should get in more starch. I picked pasta. I’m going to blend, so shape isn’t an issue. I got Barilla Plus for the omega-3, and all I had in that was spaghetti. I took out 2 oz. and broke it into small sections into the simmering soup.

At this point, two things occur to me: Maybe blending isn’t needed: just dip it up after stirring in eggs. And it needs umami. I got down one of my reserve jars of anchovies and dug out enough to add umami without adding any anchovy or fish taste.

Given the state of my tummy, I’m not going with any pepper sauce or flakes, but now I will add some olive oil.

UPDATE: At end, also added last of edamame dip, into which I’d stirred some guacamole too spicy for The Wife, so the soup did end up with a definite spicy kick—that was some spicy guacamole. I also realized for the mid-life kicker I can add some sliced almonds to the soup, no need to blend in. And I have some cilantro I could chop and scatter on top.

Soup tastes quite good. And for me it has triple appeal: the aforementioned good taste, the efficient using-up of leftovers, and hitting all the targets of my meal template quite handily. Good meal—or probably three meals.

Written by LeisureGuy

28 January 2012 at 5:59 pm

Posted in Daily life, Food, Grub, Recipes

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My kind of cooking! Do you keep miso on hand as a soup base? I think it adds the umami without being obtrusive if used very, very judiciously. And it seems to store indefinitely, or 8 months, whichever comes first!

    Bill

    29 January 2012 at 5:38 am

  2. Excellent idea. I do indeed have miso on hand, but often don’t think to use it. A good mid-life kicker for this one.

    I also realized that I have several other toppings on hand: yogurt, pine nuts, and the always-useful Bac’Uns. :)

    LeisureGuy

    29 January 2012 at 7:04 am

  3. Next time you run out of the Penzey’s, you might try the TJ’s broth concentrate — lower in sodium and very tasty:http://feastingontjs.blogspot.com/2009/10/savory-broth-liquid-concentrate.html

    TYD

    29 January 2012 at 8:00 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,346 other followers