Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Weight report

with 2 comments

For those joining us late: my weight got up to 250 lbs, and I got type 2 diabetes. I finally woke up to the fact that I was committing slow suicide and took action. I lost 80 lbs and I’m now trying to find the balance point: right now I have no problems losing weight—losing weight, it turns out, is a practical skill that can be learned, much like playing basketball. As with basketball, some are naturals and some have to study and practice a lot, but the steps and process are quite clear.

My initial goal was to weigh 185 lbs, which I did for quite a few years, always feeling overweight (and, in fact, very close to overweight). So once I learned how to do this thing, I decided to dial it back to 175 lbs, my college weight. No problem, so I took it down to 170 lbs, with the idea that I would maintain my weight in the range 170-175, and if I went over 175, I would shift into loss mode. If I ever reached 180, that would be the panic point. Last Saturday I was dismayed to see my weight at 183.6. (The day before it had been 180.6, the day before that 180.3, so this was definitely a jump.)

I went into lockdown, and my weight started falling right away, and this morning it’s 181.4 and will continue to fall so long as I stick with eating right—and that is now easy to do: I re-institute “no bites” rule (no food save at meals and at two snacks, each being a piece of fruit) and follow the meal template carefully, making sure to augment the proportion of vegetables and greens while keeping protein moderate and starch low.

The puzzle I’ve not yet solved is how to maintain (say) 172.5 lbs day in and day out for weeks at a time. I’ve been running my weight up to 180 (or slightly above), then bringing it back down to 170, then up again. I need to figure out the maintenance diet better.

OTOH, I don’t feel that I’m in any danger at all of losing it—letting my BMI go above 25. I think I know what I’m doing now, but I do need to figure out a maintenance template, as it were.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 February 2012 at 8:35 am

Posted in Fitness, Food

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can’t see how you could have gained three pounds in one day. If a pound represents about 3500 calories of intake above burn level, you would have had to have a food orgy on a Roman emperor level, or a fluid intake/output divergence of wild proportions, wouldn’t you? Are your scales right? Are you standing in the same place every time you get on them? Do they have to be moved for you to use them? Are the batteries low? Or are the cleaners bumping the zero adjustment when they mop the area?

    I knew a lady who weighed daily and reported considerable variance day to day. I was not persuaded that she was getting anything out of it and would have been better off the weigh once a week and regard that as more representative of her overall trend. If you write it down, do you see a trend by checking, say, Fridays, for the last 8 weeks?

    I just spent 12 days doing 3 or 4 hours of light yard work daily, yet my doctor’s scales say I have gained 2 pounds in the last month. But my meals and snacks were not noticeably larger. I feel thinner, and will check again in a week or two. Wife says I don’t show any gain, so I’m going with her observation.

    Bill

    29 February 2012 at 10:53 am

  2. My weight can readily fluctuate by 3 lbs or more. Fecal content, water retention, and so on can make the difference. I think if you weigh yourself daily you’d see the same variation in your own weight: try it. Indeed, the “weigh once a week” recommendation is based on the fact that weight can vary a lot from day to day.

    Yes, my scale is quite accurate. It is on a tile floor, is not moved, and zeroes itself automatically when it is turned on. I stand in the same place on each weighing, the batteries are fine, and I haven’t had any cleaners in for a week.

    Sure, I see trends. I don’t write anything down: I use a Withings Wifi-enabled scale, so all readings are automatically recorded. The trend is good, with the limitations discussed in the post.

    LeisureGuy

    29 February 2012 at 11:03 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,072 other followers