Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Extremely nice shave

with 6 comments

I took a break from the non-lathering shaving creams for today—though I just had to use one of the Mystic Water soaps I ordered, so picked the Sandalwood Rose, an interesting and pleasant fragrance.

The brush loaded easily, but I’m not sure I loaded it enough: the third pass was a little light in the lather department. OTOH, the lather struck me as quite good in terms of its function and I did get a good third pass. Now I’m eager to try the soap again, of course. I’ll try another brush and see how it goes, but no real complaint: I’m still in the learning/exploratory stage of this soap.

The ARC Weber with the Astra Superior Platinum did its usual superb job: a terrific shave. And the splash of Sandalwood was a very good choice. I’m sitting here still enjoying my shave—and I need to break out this aftershave more often.

Sandalwood, I should note, is one of the fragrances that seem to trigger skin reactions in some men, so if you’ve not used Sandalwood previously, it’s a good idea to make your initial purchase of sandalwood (shaving soap, shaving cream, aftershave, whatever) as a sample, and then test that sample on your skin at the crease of your elbow joint or inside your forearm before trying it on your face. (Similar precautions should be observed with, for example, Proraso’s menthol+eucalyptus shaving cream.)

And as a nice coincidence, Garry’s Sample Shop is holding a sale:

10% off any order (before shipping); that goes to 15% off any order (before shipping) if you subscribe to his email list. Moreover, shipping is free on any order that totals more than $30.

The sale ends at midnight PST 4/30/2012

To get the discount, all you have to do is to specify two things in your order:

1. Which site you’re coming from to place the order; and

2. That you want the “customer appreciation” discount.

Written by LeisureGuy

27 April 2012 at 7:46 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael
    I also tried out a Mystic Soap this week–found it very effective but a bit heavily scented for my likes. Vanilla Orange, but to be honest I think the sample was ever so slightly contaminated by some of the other samples sent, ZipLock be damned.
    I want to thank you for your shaving book, which helped me greatly in this fantastic “hobby.” I am actually slated to teach what I’m calling “Introduction to Traditional Shaving” at our local Santa Cruz Reskilling Expo on May 20th. I am excited to be able to share my enthusiasm and limited knowledge with others, and I’ll have a copy of your book on my table of goodies. Fwiw this is a free community class, walk-in, about 90 minutes. I plan to close with a straight razor shaving demo. Should be fun.

    http://www.reskillingexpo.com

    Dave Larkin

    27 April 2012 at 1:21 pm

  2. Here’s an interesting article about the price rip off relating to razor cartridges

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2136440/The-great-razor-rip-Prices-blades-soar-99-just-years.html

    Tony The Blade

    28 April 2012 at 3:31 am

  3. @ Dave: Sounds very cool. If you’re ever down in Monterey, give a call.

    @ Tony: Many thanks for the link.

    LeisureGuy

    28 April 2012 at 11:15 am

  4. I think I got the best shave of my life today. The new variable was the Kai razor blade. Sharp? Yes, but somehow smooth as silk. I did a three pass shave with a little touch up using Mugo Real cream. I also used the Musgo pre-shave soap. None of that was new but for the Kai blade. I went after it all. I got every last bit of roughness removed, leaving my face as smooth as glass. And not a hint of razor burn or irritation. I finished with Captains Bay Rum and some of Em,s shave balm. There was very little burn from the bay rum, a sure sign of a great shave. This was my first shave with the Kai blade. If the remaining blades perform like this, I’ll be getting more. Even now, hous later, my face is smooth and comfortable beyond any previous shave. A new benchmark that I doubt can be improved on.

    Dan J

    28 April 2012 at 5:57 pm

  5. I suggest you stick with the Kai blades for a few months as you settle into your technique. Isn’t a great shave a terrific start to the day?

    LeisureGuy

    29 April 2012 at 6:37 am

  6. It does make for a terrific start to the day. I will be getting more of the Kai blades. Unfortunately they are not very popular. Only a few online retailers seem to have them available and there are no deals on them to be had. Keep looking.

    Dan J

    29 April 2012 at 7:55 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,294 other followers