Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Travel report

with 3 comments

Caught the 6:08 a.m. shuttle to SFO International, remembering on the way that I had left my windbreaker in my room. Called hotel from airport and arranged to have jacket mailed to my home address.

Got in the security line and was almost at the front when I realized I was checking my bag (which had my pocketknife, razor, and blades inside), so had to go upstream in the queue to get back to terminal, whereupon I checked bag with no problem.

Once again through the queue, and I opted out of the X-ray machine (which DHS says is checked and calibrated annually—not daily, annually). Efficient, thorough, and respectful pat-down, no problems. After pat-down, gloves seem to be checked for traces of explosives.

Quick and expensive breakfast, along with expensive sandwich for flight. Wi-fi on flight, which pleased me, but then less pleasing was that it overwrote all open tabs and access to the Internet was $18. No, thanks.

I had finished The Hangman’s Daughter, a well-written and interesting historical murder mystery recommended by The Eldest. Quite good, but finished before the flight. So on the flight I read more in The Pickwick Papers, which I previously had not enjoyed but this time around find quite pleasant and absorbing, and then decided to get onto the Shakespeare project: listening to the plays (performed and recorded as The Archangel Shakespeare) while reading along as I listen. I almost finished As You Like It, a rather strange play but interesting (and includes the “All the world’s a stage” speech). I’m very interested now to read more about the play when I return home—I have a few books of Shakespeare commentary that I kept. And the project will go well, I can see.

The Younger Daughter met me at the airport, and we just finished a very pleasant dinner: butternut squash soup (olive oil to sauté onion, carrots, celery, apple, ginger, butternut squash, then some white wine and chicken broth, blended to smoothness with immersion blender) topped with blue cheese and walnuts, plus grilled wild salmon and iced tea.

So far, quite a good trip.

UPDATE: Forgot to mention that last night I had dinner at Fat Wong’s Kitchen in San Bruno: a plain place, but with quite a few customers and I was the only non-Chinese in the place. Excellent food and lengthy menu, all dishes a la carte—no combination dinners or the like. Food was served quite hot from the wok, rice optional. Lots of different noodle dishes: noodle soups, pan-tossed noodles, fried noodles, etc. I would definitely go again.

Written by LeisureGuy

13 September 2012 at 3:57 pm

Posted in Daily life, Food, Recipes

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That soup sounds delicious!

    the wife

    13 September 2012 at 9:44 pm

  2. It was indeed. Just a modest amount of ginger: not overwhelming. Extremely tasty. I’ll be making it.

    LeisureGuy

    14 September 2012 at 4:15 am

  3. Try The Covent Garden Soup Book it has some really great recipes, I was introduced to their soups by She who must be obeyed. Every one we’ve made has tasted really good. Enjoy the break sounds like you’re being well looked after

    Tony The Blade

    14 September 2012 at 4:52 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,329 other followers