Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Low-glycemic foods help dieters

with 2 comments

I’ve for some years favored low-glycemic foods. I very seldom eat bread (and never at home: don’t have it in the house), my breakfast cereal is oats, and white potatoes are not in my diet. I believe this article is intriguing, but they categorize white rice as high-glycemic, but in fact converted (white) rice has a relatively low glycemic index. My list of foods, sorted by glycemic index, is on my other computer. I’ll post it after I return home. In the meantime, here’s a link to several categories of foods, each sorted by glycemic index.

This article explains why it’s important. General guide:

  • Low (good) glycemic index levels: 55 or less
  • Medium glycemic index levels: 56–69
  • High (bad) glycemic index levels: 70 or higher

Written by LeisureGuy

16 September 2012 at 5:17 am

Posted in Daily life, Food, Health, Science

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for posting the differences of glycemic levels; now I know what to stay clear from for my skin issues:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

    wartica

    16 September 2012 at 7:23 am

  2. It should be noted that those GIs are based on a scale with white bread = 100; there’s another GI index based on a scale with glucose = 100 (in which white bread = 67 or so). This table shows both values, but unfortunately is not sorted by GI.

    LeisureGuy

    16 September 2012 at 7:54 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,269 other followers