Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

First batch of pepper sauce in new apartment

with 2 comments

Whole Foods had some nice darkish jalapeños: starting to turn red, and some with stretch marks (which I’m advised mean hotter). So I got a big bag of those and about 10 very nice-looking habaneros. I removed stems (but not seeds) from all, put them into the blender with 2 Tbsp olive oil, 1/3 c sea salt, 1 small can chipotles in adobo, 3 dried ancho chili peppers (large not especially hot), and added vinegar to cover: some white vinegar and when I ran out, organic white balsamic vinegar. I blended that well, and it’s now simmering.

I usually include 8-12 dried chipotles, but I’m out, so I added a dash of liquid smoke.

I’ll simmer it 20 minutes, let it sit 20 minutes, then bottle. That should hold me a couple of months. Good stuff, very easy.

Hmm. I just discovered that at the same setting, the new burners are hotter than my old ones. Had a little boil-over. Now I know.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 October 2012 at 11:00 am

Posted in Food, Recipes

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are Molly’s eyes watering?

    The burner setting may explain why some of your cooking instructions didn’t turn out quite as expected!

    the wife

    30 October 2012 at 11:17 am

  2. No eyes watering. I heard it and went in immediately, turned down and burner and turned on fan. Molly just now was lying on her tummy on the kitchen floor, hugging her water bowl as she was drinking.

    LeisureGuy

    30 October 2012 at 11:23 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,269 other followers