Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Healthful salad

with 2 comments

After blogging this post, I got to thinking, and I just made this salad:

3 crowns broccoli, cut in florets and steamed until tender
1 large carrot, shredded by using fine julienne in my Swissmar V-Slicer*
1/2 c pecans, chopped coarsely
1 avocado, cut into chunks
4-5 scallions, sliced
1 can sardines in olive oil, drained
dressing of 1/2 c yogurt, 1/4 c vinaigrette

Tossed and tasted: quite nice. Might add some juice from a Meyer lemon.

My intention was to simmer a cubed yam in the water I used to steam the broccoli and add that. Then I would have starch, protein, oil, and veggies, but I used up the yam already and didn’t feel like going out. Still, that would be a good addition.

*I have a cut-proof glove, so I shred fearlessly and end up using the V-Slicer often.

UPDATE: Added half an apple, diced; a handful of pitted Kalamata olives, cut in half; and juice of half a Meyer lemon. Extremely nice.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 October 2012 at 1:17 pm

Posted in Daily life, Food, Recipes

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you got an Asian grocery nearby? Here in NC, I get nice vegetables at reasonable prices there. Spring onions, especiallly, are cheaper there, and the Chinese Broccoli, as it is called here, is a great leafy green with small bites of broccoli head attached. The stems are a nice crunchy contrast to the cooked leaves. They also sell bags of carrots, about 3 or 4 pounds, I’d estimate. I usually just buy 2 pounds at a time at the regular grocery, though. Great snack at night. No reflux irritation.

    bill bush

    30 October 2012 at 5:00 pm

  2. We used to have one here, but no more.

    LeisureGuy

    30 October 2012 at 8:11 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,079 other followers