Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Two-brush shave

with 6 comments

I’m trying to understand the high regard in which some hold Semogue brushes, but so far no luck. Yesterday I linked to a Wicked_Edge post comparing the knots of the two brushes above (Omega 40033 on the left, Semogue Owners Club on the right), and today I used both. The Semogue does indeed have a soft feel after soaking, but the knot’s unruliness did not go away and by the second pass the lather in the Semogue had pretty much vanished, while the Omega, feeling slightly stiffer and with a very together knot was still lathering like a champ on the third pass and beyond. (I didn’t refresh either brush at the soap, which does have a mild and pleasant whisky fragrance.)

I remain in the dark about why Semogues are appealing to some, particularly in comparison to Omega, but I guess this is yet another example of YMMV.

The two razors are side by side simply to show the similarities between the Apollo Mikron and the Merkur Progress; the latter seems to me to be a cost-engineered version of the former, with cost savings through design simplifications. Both shave quite well, and I used the Mikron this morning. The Swedish Gillette blade was on its last legs, though, and at the end of the shave I switched it out for a new blade for next use. Still, I did achieve a good shave, and with a hearty splash of Alt-Innsbruck I’m ready for a little more unpacking today, plus kitchen clean-up and some grocery shopping.

Written by LeisureGuy

31 October 2012 at 9:55 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Slightly unrelated question. Do the weber ALC/DLC have a significant different shave than the EJ 89 series? Are they worth acquiring?

    Ayodh

    31 October 2012 at 12:05 pm

  2. They do a better job for me, and I think that are still a bargain for a solid stainless razor. However, I do recommend that the second razor be a slant-bar because it has a distinctly different cutting action, and nowadays I would recommend the bakelite slant from ItalianBarber.com.

    LeisureGuy

    31 October 2012 at 1:23 pm

  3. Just received by Bakelite slant today. Can’t wait to try it out.

    Fourcooks2000

    31 October 2012 at 1:55 pm

  4. I’ll be interested to read your impressions.

    LeisureGuy

    31 October 2012 at 2:10 pm

  5. Had my first shave with the slant and it was great. I was a little concerned with the heft as I am accustomed to my Tradere SB which is my # 1 razor. But the slant performed extremely well. The angle that I used was a little steeper than I am used to but very easy to find. I agree everyone shoud try a slant. It will not replace my Tradere but my Webers may be in third place now. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Fourcooks2000

    31 October 2012 at 6:23 pm

  6. After some experience with it, I found that I really liked the light weight.

    LeisureGuy

    31 October 2012 at 6:54 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,293 other followers