Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Step 1 of comparison: Creed’s Green Irish Tweed

with 7 comments

SOTD 28 Dec 2012

A couple of things are going on in this shave. First is that I wanted to do a head-to-head comparison of Creed’s Green Irish Tweed shaving soap (currently $80/tub, though I paid $62 but a couple of years ago) and Strop Shoppe’s Special Edition Teakwood with Tallow shaving soap ($16/tub, exactly 1/5 the price—though the Creed soap is available as a standalone puck for $38, just over twice as much. However, the Creed puck is 5.2 oz, whereas the Strop Shoppe packages 8.5 oz of soap in their tub: $1.88/oz vs. $7.31/oz, or 1/4 the price of the Creed soap. And let me add, $42 for an unfinished wooden tub is mighty steep. NOPE: As Tony the Blade points out in comments, the standalone puck is just a regular soap, not a shaving soap.

UPDATE updated: For those who wish to buy the puck alone, the Creed Boutique is currently out of stock, but you can buy it here. Nope: Creed sells their shaving soap only in the bowl: the standalone puck is plain soap, not shaving soap. Thanks to Tony the Blade for the catch. The shaving soap (in a tub) is indeed available currently from Niemann-Marcus.

That said, Creed’s Green Irish Tweed is an absolutely terrific shaving soap, that makes a thick, luxurious lather quickly, and the puck will last a good while.

Another aspect of today’s shave is brush choice. I want to use the same brush on both soaps, and I was about to go with a horsehair brush when a Wicked Edge comment about the Wee Scot made me decide to use that. The Wee Scot is a superb brush, though obviously intended for building the lather on the beard, not in a bowl, and though the commenter had a somewhat jaundiced view of the brush, I was reminded of its excellence by the discussion and went with it. And that was a good idea, based on the lather I immediately worked up.

After three passes the Wee Scot still held plenty of lather should I have wanted a fourth pass, or even a fifth. I continue to prize this brush for daily use.

The razor is a Gillette Slim Handle, though yclept “Aristocrat” because plated in gold—one of several different models awarded the name. Today it carried an Astra Keramik Platinum blade, and it provided an excellent shave.

After three passes, I used a tiny bit of my sample bottle of Creed’s Green Irish Tweed cologne as the aftershave, and it is wonderful: one can see why the fragrance is so highly prized.

A fine shave, and I’m looking forward to tomorrow.

Written by LeisureGuy

28 December 2012 at 9:07 am

Posted in Shaving

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Uff, battle of the heavyweights…Shot at the title of the absolutelly best shaving soap?

    Chrom

    28 December 2012 at 12:55 pm

  2. Well, best of the soaps I’ve tried, though the top of the pack are all quite close.

    LeisureGuy

    28 December 2012 at 1:44 pm

  3. Where can I buy the shaving soap sans the expensive wooden bowl? Seems to be only available as a set.
    I agree, the bowl is over the top price wise – and doesn’t add to the shave. A $2 plastic clip top container
    from Korea is my container of choice for shaving soaps.

    Chris R

    28 December 2012 at 5:33 pm

  4. NOT Here. As pointed out by Tony the Blade, this is just plain soap, not a shaving soap refill. I looked at the Creed Boutique, and so far as I can tell the shaving soap is sold ONLY in the wooden bowl. Post to be corrected.

    LeisureGuy

    28 December 2012 at 5:53 pm

  5. Michael, how would you compare Mystic water Sensitive soap with those 2 top performers? I recently tried the sample and was simply blown away by it. I even like the smell more and more and is definitely the soap I will be ordering next. Alog with Lily of the valley. So far. :-)

    Chrom

    29 December 2012 at 1:11 am

  6. I think the link to the store for a refill Creed soap is only for the hand soap version not the shaving soap. I’ve serched the web and even here in the UK I can’t seem to find a refill shaving soap. It looks like the only way to buy it is with the bowl which makes the bowl expensive enough to use it as part of a dinner service!!!

    Tony The Blade

    29 December 2012 at 6:00 am

  7. @Chrom: I was thinking that very thought as I shaved this morning. I will indeed extend comparisons to include Mystic Water and shave with it tomorrow—an unaccustomed Sunday shave, but I’ll make the sacrifice for the sake of shaving science.

    @Tony: You’re absolutely right. And looking at the Creed Boutique, I see that their shaving soaps are offered only in the wooden bowls. What a ripoff.

    LeisureGuy

    29 December 2012 at 8:09 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,200 other followers