Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Strop Shoppe Black Tie Tallow and the Weber Polished Head

with 6 comments

SOTD 1 Jan 2013

Good to start the new year with a terrific shave. My Ecotools Kabuki made a terrific lather from Strop Shoppe’s Black Tie Tallow shaving soap. The fragrance was more assertive than the Teakwood I used earlier and (to my nose) quite pleasant. Three very smooth passes with the Weber HP carrying an Astra Superior Platinum blade, and a good splash of The Shave Den’s Coconut Lime Verbena balm, which feels good and smells quite tropical.

I got this Clubman Pinaud Dab-On styptic to compare it to My Nik Is Sealed, my current favorite styptic. This is another liquid styptic (and those seem to be much more effective than styptic pencils), but instead of a rollerball applicated as in MNIS, this one uses a blunt felt tip to apply the styptic. Testing it will have to wait until I get a nick; nowadays those are rare. But this may be an alternative.

Written by LeisureGuy

1 January 2013 at 10:58 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found a solution to the styptic pencil problem more than 20 years ago. I went to a local pharmacist and asked for a bag of alum powder(still using it). It is the same stuff styptic pencils are made from. I just wet a finger,dip it in the bag and apply to the nick or cut. Unlike the liquid,it does leave a white residue which can easily be removed after a few minutes. It is an effective and economical way to treat nicks,cuts,etc.

    Rupert Bizzell

    1 January 2013 at 11:55 am

  2. Only on topic insofar as this is a new years post, but I wanted to wish you a very happy new year and a wonderful 2013.

    Josh In CA

    1 January 2013 at 2:27 pm

  3. I like SCS for their splashes and The Shave Den for their milks.

    J Dogg

    1 January 2013 at 7:19 pm

  4. I prefer the roller ball variety of styptic from My Nik is Sealed or Pacific Shaving. The clubman mesh wire on the applicator I found unsanitary and irritating on the face, although it does the job.

    J Dogg

    4 January 2013 at 7:14 pm

  5. If you are looking for an opportunity to review this styptic, when was the last time you pulled out your Tradere OC 1st gen? Perhaps it will be like the Micron, and you will have learned it in the intervening hiatus.

    dirtytexan

    8 January 2013 at 12:54 pm

  6. Good point and worth a try. I’ll do it. Thanks for the idea.

    LeisureGuy

    8 January 2013 at 1:04 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,294 other followers