Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Another great shave stimulated by a Wicked_Edge discussion

with 7 comments

SOTD 12 Jan 2013

Another BBS shave—and truly that statement is reportage, not braggadocio. I think that after some years of DE shaving, one finds his groove and the daily shave becomes extremely good.

I use Pré de Provence soap because I had read several comments about how it didn’t lather well, and I used the Ecotools because of several questions about whether it performed well (apparently from those who thought that perhaps a strong recommendation still allowed for poor performance from the brush).

Within 15 seconds I was making the microscopic bubbles that indicate the brush is well loaded. I moved brush to beard and fully enjoyed the soft feel as I continued to work up the lather—again getting those stiffish peaks that this brush seems to make. As usual, I started with a very wet brush, holding the tin of soap on its side over the sink and brushing briskly and firmly. I actually didn’t lose much water at all: almost immediately the lather arose and large bubbles gave way to small and then to tiny as I straightened the tin up while brushing.

So this soap lathers quite well for me, and the brush does its usual terrific job. I went off the soap for a while because (as you see) it purports to be shea-butter enriched, and yet the ingredients (on the bottom of the tin) do not list shea butter as an ingredient. That I really did not like, and gave me such a negative feeling about the soap I gradually stopped using it. I understand that the new labels now include shea butter in the list of ingredients, and so one assumes it’s now in the soap. Probably. But I kind of soured on the manufacturer.

Still: it was a fine lather, and the Silvertone razor with a newish Kai blade did a superb job. This really is a good little razor—better, I think, than the Lord L6, the usual inexpensive beginner razor (which costs twice as much as the Silvertone). Three passes, lots of pleasant lather before each pass, and a totally smooth and comfortable shave.

As I rubbed in a good splash of Penhaligon’s Blenheim Bouquet, I realized that again I enjoyed a BBS shave, with no nicks or irritation or other problem. I really do seem to have found my groove.

Written by LeisureGuy

12 January 2013 at 9:19 am

Posted in Shaving

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shea Butter’s name on ingredients is often Butyrospermum parkii or Vitellaria paradoxa

    J Dogg

    12 January 2013 at 2:15 pm

  2. Out of curiosity, I ordered the Ecotools two pack of brushes from Amazon. I love the bamboo handle. I thought that the hairs would be too soft to create lather, but boy I was wrong! It creates a wonderful lather. I did have to use a little more pressure when creating lather that I usually do. I gravitate to smaller knots, and this brush has earned a spot in my rotation. As a side note, have you tried the Personna “Hospital Use” blades?

    Ryan Tucker

    12 January 2013 at 2:18 pm

  3. I have not tried those blades. I’m delighted that you had the same experience with the Ecotools brush as I. It’s oddly difficult to convince people (before they try it) that the brush really works extremely well as a shaving brush. But it does serve as yet another example of how difficult it is to predict accurately one’s reaction to a future experience (before actually having the experience).

    I checked the ingredients, and neither is listed. In fact, everything that is listed is identifiable.

    LeisureGuy

    12 January 2013 at 3:34 pm

  4. OK. According to this thread http://www.shavemyface.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=314765&sid=4770be005986acf21ae0643b2d8b94c3 Pre de Provence left the shea butter off of their ingredient list for the English packaging, but had it on the French one. This is what the new ingredient list shows http://www.classicshaving.com/catalog/item/522960/7544696.htm (Ingredients: Potassium Palmate, Sodium Palmate, Potassium Palm Kernal, Sodium Palm Kernal, Water, Palm Kernal Acid, Fragrance, Sodium Chloride, Shea Butter). Shea Butter is the last ingredient anyway.

    For Institute Karite: Potassium Palmate, Sodium Palmate, Potassium Stearate, Potassium Palm Kernelate, Sodium Stearate, Sodium Palm Kernelate, Glycerin, Aqua, Isopropyl Lanolate, Palm Kernel Acid, Butyrospermum Parkii, Parfum, Titanium Dioxide, Pentasodium Pentetate, Tetrasodium Etidronate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-33, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Polysorbate 60, Petrolatum, Dimethicone Copolyol, Citronellol, Amylconnamyl Alcohol, Geraniol – a forum member pointed out that they use Petrolatum – a petroleum byproduct in their shaving soap. Well that just about kills it for me mentally anyway, like when Fitjar uses Sodium Laurel Sulfate. Why should a high quality soap use synthetic fillers? The market wants clean ingredients now a days. For example companies that use High Fructrose Corn Syrup experience an 11% drop in sales which has caused many brands to reformulate, at the dismay of Monsanto.

    I did come across Van Der Hagen Deluxe with Shea Butter and a low cost entrant Deluxe Shave Soap: Propylene Glycol, Sorbitol, Water, Sodium Stearate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Myristate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (Aloe Vera), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Fragrance, Titanium Dioxide, Triethanolamine, FD&C Yellow #5, FD&C Red #40 – the propylene glycol #1 is a known irritant to me as well as SLS.

    Provence Sante: SODIUM PALMATE, SODIUM PALM KERNELATE, AQUA (WATER), GLYCERIN, PARFUM (FRAGRANCE), PALM ACID, BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII (SHEA BUTTER), SODIUM CHLORIDE, PALM KERNEL ACID, AMYL CINNAMAL, TETRASODIUM EDTA, TETRASODIUM ETIDRONATE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, D-LIMONENE, HEXYL CINNAMAL, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, COUMARIN .

    Honey Bee Spa: Coconut Oil, Palm Oil, Castor Oil, Hempseed Oil, Safflower Oil, Shea Butter, Glycerine (vegetable origin), Vitamin E, Water, Sodium Hydroxide, Sorbitol, Sorbitan Oleate, Soybean Protein, Wheat Protein, White Kaolin China Clay, Cosmetic Color and Fragrance Oil

    RazoRock Artisan Shave Soap 125ml – Muguet de France: Stearic Acid, Water, Cocos Nucifera, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance, Shea Butter, Potassium Carbonate

    RazoRock Artisan Shave Soap 125ml – Mughetto di Bologna: Stearic Acid, Tallow, Water, Cocos Nucifera, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance, Shea Butter, Potassium Carbonate.

    RazoRock Artisan Shave Soap 150ml – King Louis Lavender / 888 Eucalyptus: Stearic Acid, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Potassium Hydroxide, Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Wax, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Oil, Prunus Amygdalus (Sweet Almond) Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Oil, Lanolin, Sodium Carbonate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch, Titanium Dioxide, Propolis Extract, Lavandula Hybrida Oil, Lecithin, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Citric Acid, Linalool, Geraniol.

    Some others with shea are Nanny’s, Mystic Waters, and Mike’s natural.

    J Dogg

    13 January 2013 at 8:17 am

  5. Wow. Great research. Thank you. Hmm. I’m definitely disappointed that the “25% shea butter” claim on Institut Karité shaving soap seems to be false (at least going by shea butter’s placement in the ingredients list). Honeybee Soaps shows up quite well, I think. Also the RazoRock Artisan has shea butter relatively early in the ingredients list. But most seem to have about as much table salt as shea butter—like they were making an extraordinarily dry martini with shea butter as the vermouth.

    Many thanks. It’s clear why so many manufacturers do not want to list ingredients. :)

    LeisureGuy

    13 January 2013 at 8:29 am

  6. Yeah I was thinking that too about the 25% claim in IK. I’ve also heard Pre de Provence claim 20%. I think it must be calculated before processing as opposed to the final product. Like how McDonald’s Quarter Pounder is only a Quarter Pound before all the grease is cooked off, then the final product is much less.

    J Dogg

    13 January 2013 at 10:13 am

  7. After reading the list, I couldn’t resist going to HoneybeeSoaps.net and buying a couple of tubs of her soap. Great ingredients. (And you see why I dote on the artisanal soaps… )

    LeisureGuy

    13 January 2013 at 10:18 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,251 other followers