Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Extremely fine shave with Groom Room soap and the Super

leave a comment »

SOTD 15 Jan 2013

I received a complimentary tub of the soap from Razor Emporium. I have been fond of two other soaps made by TheGentlemansGroomRoom.com, Sweet Gale (“Enriched and fragranced with Bog Myrtle, Natural honey, Mixed spices, Cedarwood, Beeswax and Aberfeldy Single Malt Scotch Whisky”) and Scottish Heather. The Mountain Yew soap has a similarly entrancing fragrance, in this case “Juniper, Cajeput, Mixed Spices, Natural Honey, Cypress and Fir”, and the evergreen and honey odors blend very nicely (to my nose, at any rate).

The lather was generous, thanks in part to the wonderful G.B. Kent BK4: a lovely soft brush that makes a great lather and feel like a warm cloud on the face. This is day 2 of the week trial of “with” The Shave Den’s Pre-Shave Balm, and the shave went well. I’m settling into it now, and I’m getting accustomed. The test will be when I switch to “without.”

My short-handled Gillette Super Adjustable with a Swedish Gillette blade did a fine job, but I’m sort of thinking that I like the longer handle—somehow this one seemed a little head-heavy today. I’ll have to try the other tomorrow.

A fine splash of Aquarius aftershave in honor of the sign we’re in, and I’m fit for the day.

Written by LeisureGuy

15 January 2013 at 11:01 am

Posted in Shaving

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,273 other followers