Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Perfect shave again, testing shaving soaps

with 4 comments

SOTD 30 Jan 2013

I wanted to compare Strop Shoppe’s Black Tie with Tallow shave soap (shown above) with their Special Edition Black Tie with Tallow (tomorrow’s shave, using my Gillette Diplomat instead of the Gillette President shown: the identical razor except gold-plated instead of rhodium-plated as above (original plating for the one above was nickel).

So I worked up a very fine lather with my Rooney Victorian, a very nice brush I have thanks to a recommendation from Todd O. After working it into my stubble, the lather seemed a tad thick, so I added a driblet of water to the center of the brush and worked that in, starting with my chin. As usual, I took my time.

Then three passes with the President holding a newish Astra Platinum blade. Once again I had the feeling that I could not possibly harm myself: the razor felt totally comfortable, cutting easily and smoothly, and I thoroughly enjoyed the shave. After three passes, I rinsed and my face was totally BBS, noticeably better than yesterday’s shave.

In fact, it was so much better that I got to wondering whether it was the lather that made such a noticeable different. The Strop Shoppe lather was significantly better than the Haslinger lather, and left my skin feeling much softer and more moisturized. Could it be that which so improved my shave? The Edwin Jagger head used yesterday is not bad at all, and the Swedish Gillette blade is good, though that one was not so sharp as today’s Astra Superior Platinum simply because the ASP was newer.

Still, it’s an interesting consideration. I’ll try back to back shaves using the same razor and blade, one with a mediocre lather as from the Haslinger, and the other with a superior lather, as from Strop Shoppe. It will be interesting to see what difference a lather can make. I suppose it’s no surprise that the lather could be a critical component of a great shave, but I had not really focused beyond the greater pleasure a lather from an excellent soap provides.

A hearty splash of Speick—I love that aftershave—and I’m getting ready for the cleaning.

Written by LeisureGuy

30 January 2013 at 9:13 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just curious, are you still using a per shave soap like Mr. glo?

    Fourcooks

    30 January 2013 at 9:24 am

  2. Absolutely: every shave. Right now i used up my current bar of MR GLO, so I’m using up a bar of Whole Foods 365 Glycerin soap I bought to test. But yes: the pre-shave beard wash is always included. It does make a noticeable improvement in the shave for me.

    LeisureGuy

    30 January 2013 at 10:18 am

  3. I’m curious, too. Do you leave the soap in the original container? Or do you put in in a shaving bowl to get your lather?

    Dave Petty

    30 January 2013 at 8:08 pm

  4. I just leave it in its original container. When I load the brush (over the sink), I do get lather all over my left hand, but a quick rinse and I’m into the shave.

    Wait: which soap? The shaving soap I leave in the original container. MR GLO or the glycerin soap I put on a soap rack after I use it.

    LeisureGuy

    30 January 2013 at 8:16 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,293 other followers