Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Sample size

with 2 comments

SOTD 7 Feb 2013

Yet another wonderful shave, and I noticed a couple of things about samples.

First, the samples of shaving cream seem to be good for at least 5 shaves. After I finish this run-through, I’m going to use one of the samples to exhaustion to see just how many shaves I do get.

Second, take a look at that sample of Saint Charles Shave Bulgarian Rose with Lemon. That is after 5 uses. I’ve been saying that the aftershave samples from Saint Charles Shave are good for a week or so of shaves. I greatly underestimated: I would say that this sample is going to be good for 3-4 weeks at least. I’ll keep track and post the final finding.

To the shave: I wet the Omega boar brush well with hot water and left it sitting beside the sink while I showered—that seems to soak it enough. I used my finger to put a small amount of the sample of Bodega on my beard, still wet from the wash with high-glycerin soap. Bodega is a very nice fragrance:

Bodega is a mix of sweet and bitter notes blended with a floral touch and a strong presence of various supporting notes in the background. This delicate yet complex scent is a favorite of people seeking woody aromas from the orient.

Again an absolutely terrific lather, with plenty left in the brush for more than the three passes I did. My Edwin Jagger Chatsworth with the new head and a Swedish Gillette blade did a fine job, and three passes left a perfectly smooth face.

A good splash of Saint Charles Shave Bulgarian Rose with Lemon aftershave, and I am ready for Thursday.

A comment about Wicked_Edge: membership has just passed 30,000 members, a tenfold increase from Oct 2011. According to a recent poll, members’ ages are predominantly 18-25 years old. Based on their own comments, I would estimate that fewer than 1% return to multiblade cartridges after trying DE shaving. There’s very little advertising of traditional DE shaving—it’s strictly word of mouth—but the number of mouths talking about it (usually in amazement that shaving can be this good, and with blades that cost so little compared to cartridges) increases rapidly. I would say that Procter & Gamble must be increasingly aware of the challenge. It will be interesting to see their response in the coming year or two.

Written by LeisureGuy

7 February 2013 at 10:01 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I got a set of 8 samples from Al’s Shaving a couple of months ago. The combined smell of all the samples in the shipping box was so strong that I didn’t have the guts to actually open any of them. I just sealed them in a plastic ziplock bag and tossed them in a bottom drawer, where they still seem to exude some odor. In retrospect, it was a dumb mistake to get them in the first place, since my wife is quite sensitive to strong fragrances. Too bad Al doesn’t appear to have any unscented products.

    Have there been any Leisureguy reviews of unscented shaving creams? I’ve been using T&H Ultimate Comfort, which isn’t quite unscented (despite the labeling), but the lavender scent is subtle enough for my wife to tolerate. (Not so lucky with whatever fragrance or chemicals are in the TOBS Avocado I tried previously.) I like the T&H UC, but it would be nice to try other creams, too.

    pantograph

    8 February 2013 at 10:44 am

  2. I’ve fairly frequently mentioned Mystic Waters Sensitive Skin: you can see the ingredients list in this post. And Strop Shoppe’s Unscented Soap is quite good. But those both are soaps, which I prefer to shaving creams. I’ll also mention that Anthony Logistics has a fragrance-free aftershave balm, which I’ve not tried.

    You can probably sell the 7-cream sampler at /r/shave_bazaar on reddit.

    LeisureGuy

    8 February 2013 at 11:02 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,231 other followers