Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Wonderful shave with a better aftershave

with one comment

SOTD 22 June 2013

A really fine shave with a few experiments. I’m still using MR GLO for the pre-shave beard wash, but I will today mix 4 variants of the Jlocke98 aftershave (lanolin, jojoba, olive, and emu oils).

The brush is a freebie that came with my Frank Shaving synthetic. I didn’t order it and it has no markings, but it seems like a pretty nice boar brush. I soaked it and used it. Very nice feel and held plenty of lather for the four passes.

The lather from the RazoRock soft soap was, as is typically with RazoRock, extremely good. And the Tradere Solid Bar carries a brand new Kai blade, so the shave was exceptionally smooth and easy.

I’m using the other aftershave balm that I received from Douglas Smythe. This one is solid, rather than a soft paste, and it worked quite well as an aftershave: not nearly so greasy as the other. I decided that the other had somehow separated, and I did try to stir it back together with my finger, but I didn’t get a good mix. Next week I’ll try these as pre-shaves. Still, this one (type B) worked well.

Very nice shave, altogether. And the doorbell just rang with the letter carrier wanting a signature on my new badger+horse Reddit Wicked_Edge shaving brush, which I’ll use for Monday’s shave.

Written by LeisureGuy

22 June 2013 at 10:43 am

Posted in Shaving

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad you enjoyed it Michael! Formula “B” is my favorite as well and the butter I am running with! I have used it as a pre-shave and aftershave all week! The week before as a shave oil.
    As a shave oil I recommend washing your face with hot water first, pat dry and then apply the butter over shaving area. Allow the oils to absorb for 1-2 minutes then re-apply and go for it! I like the consistency more than traditional shave oil, I find it is easier to work rather than an oil slick. Curious to hear more!
    Cheers!
    Douglas

    Crumb_catcher

    22 June 2013 at 11:56 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,250 other followers