Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A dying blade takes revenge

with 2 comments

SOTD 29 June 2013

Back to Stirling, working on the lather. I used my Vie-Long “Bombito” boar brush from BullgooseShaving.net this morning, and I used extra loading time and extra water. The lather lasted well, though still not so creamy as (e.g.) D.R. Harris. But I’ll keep working on it. I do love the fragrance of this particular version: Black Cumin and Orange. One of the strengths of artisanal soapmakers is that they can offer more intriguing fragrances than mainline products.

The aforementioned naughty blade was a Kai, and the razor is an Edwin Jagger head on a UFO handle. I could tell that the blade was near the end as I tried to finish, and on rinsing after the shave I discovered three little nicks on my upper lip. Some blades don’t simply get dull as they die, they also get nicky. If I shaved with few enough razors to track blade uses, I would replace Kai blades one shave earlier—i.e., if this was the fifth shave for this guy, I would now replace Kai blades after 4 shaves. (I did replace it after I finished with a Personna Platinum, a blade I don’t really know yet.)

Musgo Real is a fine aftershave, and My Nik Is Sealed took care of the nicks quite handily.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 June 2013 at 11:29 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How do you like the Edwin Jagger head with the UFO handle? I too have gone back to my EJ head with a Weber Bulldog handle and love it. It has become my favorite razor. Very smooth and comfortable. On the shave forums the EJ head with a heavier handle seems to be quite popular also.

    Fourcooks

    29 June 2013 at 1:22 pm

  2. I do like it, and it does seem to help the shave. And I will add that it’s worth trying the Sodial razor head on a better handle: a cheap experiment. :)

    LeisureGuy

    29 June 2013 at 1:34 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,274 other followers