Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Making up a recipe (modified after making)

leave a comment »

I’ve made a few changes to the original, based on what I learned in the first making.

I cooked red kale and collards in my usual way: stems minced, leaves chopped small, with a little vinegar and a little fish sauce, simmered/steamed in a little water for 30 minutes or so. After it was done, I drained it and refregerated it. So that’s in the fridge now, waiting to be used, and I was mulling over how to use it. Rice would do for the starch, and I suddenly thought of eggs to bind the thing together and also take care of the protein. So here’s what I came up with.

First, I’ll cook 1 c brown rice in 2 cups water with a pinch of salt and a tsp of olive oil.

Then, into a sauté pan:

2 Tbsp olive oil
1 bunch chopped scallions spring shallots (just remember I had them), including the green part

Sauté that for a while, then add:

4-6 cloves garlic, minced
about 1/2 cup chopped celery

When that’s cooked, put it in the bottom of a largish casserole. Top that with

the cooked rice in a layer — stir some sherry and soy or fish sauce and vinegar into the rice to disperse flavors
a layer of chopped tomatoes (I have some I have to use up)
salt and pepper the tomato layer

With a fork, whisk 4-6 eggs and perhaps whip in a little milk to increase volume and thin it out some—but not much. You can add a dash of hot sauce and/or Worcestershire to the eggs. You can stir in shredded mozarella, or sprinkle it over the top, or both (double-cheese).

Bake at 350ºF until set.

I would normally add hot sauce to the eggs, but The Wife will be eating this, so I’ll add my hot sauce onto my own serving.

UPDATED as I explore fridge and thought about it. I’m going to bake this in the same 4-qt sauté pan I’m using to cook the shallots.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 July 2013 at 9:53 am

Posted in Daily life, Food, Grub, Recipes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,345 other followers