Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Smooth handle, smooth shave

with 4 comments

SOTD 14 Aug 2013

Exceptional shave. The “smooth handle” reference was due to another discussion on whether smooth handles work well for razors, with the usual answer: it depends. Obviously, a smooth handle that’s soapy will be slippery (unless you brush your fingers over the alum block, which will then provide a secure grip). But the razor is rinsed after every pass, and I don’t find that the handle ever is soapy, in practice. At least, it’s not nearly so apt to be soapy as a brush handle, and my brushes all have smooth handles—as do the two above. And again, rinsing off the soap means the grip is secure.

And, of course, many razors do have smooth handles—not only the Edwin Jagger resin handles, but also handles I have of ceramic, wood, bone, and stone: all smooth, none slippery. Indeed, the razor above (with a smooth plastic handle) is called the Wilkinson “Sticky” because men were surprised that the razor handle could be smooth and yet not slippery. The amazement at this point should be dying down.

That said, I again emailed The English Shaving Company to suggest that they test a knurled handle as one of their handle options. I think it would see quite well and I don’t see much drawback with providing the customer with another option.

I used two boar brushes this morning to compare them, and truly I could detect no significant difference. So choose your Omega boar based on how it looks to you,, and don’t worry about whether it has a band or not.

The lather was excellent: thick lather that clusters in a roll on the razor. D.R. Harris makes a fine shaving soap. Three passes of the Sticky with a Feather blade, and a BBS result. A good splash of Arlington aftershave, and the day begins.

Written by LeisureGuy

14 August 2013 at 8:27 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Since I have been following you I have not noticed that you used a Treet blade. Treet is my go to blade since reading your book. As you suggested in your book, dip the razor in alcohol after shaving to eliminate the chance of rust. Also, carbon steel, sounds traditional! One of my sons has gone to Treet also. Another just started traditional wet shaving so I am going to let him become a little experienced before suggesting Treet.

    Michael Napier

    15 August 2013 at 10:27 am

  2. Good point. I do have a little stash. I’ll use a Treet tomorrow, and also reveal to a waiting world the very jar in which I keep my (99%) rubbing alcohol.

    LeisureGuy

    15 August 2013 at 10:30 am

  3. I also dip my razor in alcohol following my shave. It extends the life of the blades and reduces bacterial growth.

    Christopher H.

    15 August 2013 at 12:49 pm

  4. I believe that in hard water, mineral deposits left by evaporating water can form along the edge of the blade, dulling it prematurely. I haven’t had occasion to worry about bacterial growth: after the razor dries, there is little to sustain bacterial life, and my face lacks blemishes. Those who suffer from (e.g.,) acne would definitely be advised to do an alcohol rinse before and after the shave, as well as take other steps (fresh towel for every shave, fresh pillowcases each night, etc.).

    LeisureGuy

    15 August 2013 at 12:58 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,234 other followers