Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A glimpse of some of the shaving collection

with 24 comments

Three photos I took this morning:

Far end:

Shaving left

The middle section:

Shaving center

Near the door:

Shaving right

Not shown are things stored elsewhere: a bookcase of aftershaves, a box of blades, a box of brushes, two boxes of soaps and shaving creams.

My plan is to occasionally retire one or more brushes and soaps and bring out some from storage that I’ve not used for a while. I do understand I have an unreasonable amount of stuff, but I do want to try things before writing about them.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 August 2013 at 11:06 am

Posted in Shaving

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. So that is what shave heaven looks like. Very impressive sir. I would never be able to choose. What a wonderful dilemma to have.

    Fourcooks

    16 August 2013 at 11:25 am

  2. I’ll often pick my shaving set-up based on comments or discussions, which remind me to return to something (or try something new, alas).

    LeisureGuy

    16 August 2013 at 11:29 am

  3. Leisureguy, you totally rock! Thanks for posting those photos.

    That you actually try things out before writing about them, coupled with your writing skill, is what has made you one of the pillars of traditional wetshaving. Your book and blog are incredibly useful resources.

    Tbone

    16 August 2013 at 1:11 pm

  4. Thank you very much Tbone. I appreciate that. Good kickoff to the weekend. :)

    LeisureGuy

    16 August 2013 at 1:21 pm

  5. a fantastic collection, congratulations, all professional objects, and who knows what value is there …!!!
    good shave

    Jo 55

    16 August 2013 at 1:40 pm

  6. Apart from the obvious fact that these photos can save my marriage, I have to say that it is the most impressive collection I have seen. I would love to see you do a best of subset of this i.e. if you were to pick the best 10 (maybe 20 for you) of each (soap, cream, AS…). I know this is a ymmv, but it would make an interesting read.

    Ayodh

    16 August 2013 at 5:43 pm

  7. A more difficult decision. Pick only one of each – razor – brush – cream/soap!! That would be interesting.

    C Rose

    16 August 2013 at 6:04 pm

  8. I long ago decided that I couldn’t do the “favorites” thing: each has its own unique character, and I do enjoy using them. I probably fall into patterns of usage (which my daily posts would reveal), but I don’t much care for the picking of favorites: I have too many second thoughts.

    LeisureGuy

    16 August 2013 at 8:04 pm

  9. “Some” of the collection???? How big is the rest?

    Steve

    17 August 2013 at 2:42 am

  10. That’s pretty much the lot for razors. For brushes, I have a box full that I lack room for (it currently contains mostly synthetics and boars); for soaps and shaving creams, I have two boxes full; for aftershaves, I have a bookcase full.

    LeisureGuy

    17 August 2013 at 4:46 am

  11. Ahhh Michael, all I see is Coming Attractions! Great collection!

    Crumb_catcher

    19 August 2013 at 7:04 pm

  12. LOL. That’s exactly what my son told me (in general): he was happy to see that I had a new mixer because not only would he get the old one, he could get a look at the one he would be getting next. :)

    LeisureGuy

    19 August 2013 at 7:50 pm

  13. Do you plan to let your collection grow indefinitely? Where do things you decide you don’t like go? I can only imagine the awesome swag friends and family get… And giveaways (especially over reddit) might be a nice way to disperse things to those who would get daily use from them.

    Emma

    20 August 2013 at 12:10 am

  14. Some I sell (e.g., razors, brushes), some I give away. I just shipped a box yesterday to a redditor. Razors and brushes have gone to family rembers, of course.

    LeisureGuy

    20 August 2013 at 6:12 am

  15. Could I possibly buy a Badger Brush from you?

    Travis Grandstaff

    20 August 2013 at 3:12 pm

  16. Let me think about that.. I’ll get back to you.

    LeisureGuy

    20 August 2013 at 4:12 pm

  17. This is just outstanding to see. My personality lends itself to getting way into my few hobbies as well…so I TOTALLY understand this.

    I think my favorite think is the mirrored shelf. Perfect for razors/shaving. Did you install this purposefully, or was it a beautiful happenstance?

    Thanks for posting!

    johnnybragg

    22 August 2013 at 10:45 am

  18. The mirror shelf was here when I moved in, and I had much the same thing in my other apartment as well, with the shelf a little bit deeper. The brushes are on spice racks I bought on-line, and the cabinet that holds the soaps was a gift from The Eldest and is made by ZipCabs.com.

    LeisureGuy

    22 August 2013 at 11:32 am

  19. Esatto, bisogna provare prima di dare un giudizio… anch’io posseggo diversi rasoi etc etc ora posso dire che sono tutti buoni e professionali piu’ o meno, pero’ mi son dovuto ricredere circa il rasoio Wilkinson Classic, (rasoio da 3 euro) non ha niente da sottovalutarsi rispetto agli altri…

    Jo 55

    2 October 2013 at 2:55 am

  20. @Jo 55: The Wilkinson Sword Classic works well for many, though some find that blades that did not work well for them in the Sword Classic turn out to work extremely well in (for example) an Edwin Jagger.

    LeisureGuy

    2 October 2013 at 5:14 am

  21. Michael your inventory is larger than mine. I am impressed. Wendy : )

    Wendy

    24 April 2014 at 8:02 pm

  22. And I did an enormous purge before moving here…

    LeisureGuy

    24 April 2014 at 8:17 pm

  23. Perhaps you answer this in your other posts but what is your process for learning or exploring each new razor or brush, and how thoroughly do you explore them before going back to your usuals or the next new thing?

    Matt

    14 July 2014 at 7:26 pm

  24. Hmm. Good question. Well, with a new razor I first have to try some different brands of blades with it, and then I use it consecutively a few days in a row if there seems to be anything I’m not quite getting—using it to gain familiarity. Then I use other razors, but circle back to the new one from time to time, frequency depending on how much I like it. And much the same is true for brushes, except of course no blades. But i’ll make a series of lathers to make sure I “get” the brush and I learn what it feels like on the face. The feel of the Omega boar R&B commemorative brush (sold by ShoeboxShaveshop.com) was quite a surprise, for example.

    LeisureGuy

    14 July 2014 at 8:46 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,249 other followers