Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Chrome v. Aviator

with 2 comments

Both Google Chrome and WhiteHat Aviator are browsers based on the open-source browser software Chromium. Aviator, however, comes with all sorts of protections, while Chrome more or less harvests information about you as you use it.

I used Chrome for quite a while, but over the past year or so I have been plagued with a problem in which my MacBook seizes up and will do nothing—it requires a hard reboot (holding down the power key until the computer is forced to power down) since even the OS stops responding. It was an irritant, but Chrome and my other programs have good recovery so I seldom lost anything. Sometimes I would have to repair files (i.e., a program would automatically run through its data files and rebuild indexes or the like), but mainly it was just a royal pain, since the freeze up always happened when I was busy—and since I keep a lot of tabs open (probably part of the problem), it took a while to reload all the pages.

The news: I have not had a problem with this since I switched to WhiteHat Aviator. It may well be that the maze of cookies and the passing of data back and forth about my browser activity was what triggered the problem: Aviator doesn’t allow cookies and it uses Disconnect to keep my sessions private.

In any event, WhiteHat Aviator has been remarkably stable. It does have its quirks: if I want to make a comment using Disqus, for example, I’ve found it easier to do that in Firefox. But almost all of my browser activity is now on Aviator. Firefox I mainly use to write blog posts.

Written by LeisureGuy

28 January 2014 at 11:08 am

Posted in Software

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ditto for me, too. Love WHA, but not good for Disqus. Have you tried Torch?

    FMMachold

    29 January 2014 at 12:03 pm

  2. I have not. I’ll take a look.

    LeisureGuy

    29 January 2014 at 12:13 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,201 other followers