Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A no-photo shave

with 6 comments

I set up the stuff and forgot to take the photo. So it goes. I’ll use the same soap—HTGAM’s Gondolier—tomorrow.

I did try HTGAM’s pre-shave butter stick. (I was going to link to it, but the site is not cooperating.) It seemed to me to be somewhat of a lather-killer, though I did follow the instructions. I did not better glide, especially on the first pass but also the second. By the third, my lather was done and I had to make new. I was using my Mühle silverfiber synthetic brush, since I thought that brush would be less affected by any oils picked up. I washed the brush out, reloaded, and had a fine lather for the final pass.

If you’re a guy who likes shaving oils, the HTGAM pre-shave is definitely worth a try. My own preference seems to be away from pre-shave oils in general.

The Gondolier shaving soap is excellent, though the fragrance is light. One oddity: nothing on the label of the tin identifies the soap, so anyone who gets it as a gift will know the maker and not the soap. I think the tin probably should carry the name of the soap. And while I’m offering ideas, it would be very nice indeed if a small label on the side of the tin—on the base, not the lid—would carry the name of the soap. This would be a major convenience when the tins are stacked, and I now have quite a few.

Three passes with a Schick Krona holding a Feather blade: perfect smoothness, a couple of small nicks. A good splash of Hâttric aftershave, and I’m ready for the day.

Written by LeisureGuy

20 February 2014 at 9:38 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m going to have to try the combination of a Feather coupled with the Schick Krona. Do you find Feathers to be particularly short-lived blades? I usually only get two shaves out of them, but they are two good shaves.

    Ryan

    20 February 2014 at 9:47 am

  2. I believe I get more than two shaves from them, but my beard is not in the extra-heavy or extra-coarse range: more middle of the road. You might try a Kai blade as well: to me they are somewhat smoother than a Feather while also being quite sharp.

    LeisureGuy

    20 February 2014 at 10:04 am

  3. Set it all up & didn’t take the picture. I glad I am not the only one who suffers memory black holes.

    Phil Wilson

    20 February 2014 at 11:20 am

  4. I understand your comments on the HTGAM pre-shave. As I mentioned yesterday, I have been using for a couple of weeks and am satisfied. However my search for what I consider to be the perfect pre-shave is not over. Regarding the Feather, I use them for three shaves and I feel it is definitely time to move on.

    Michael Napier

    20 February 2014 at 11:49 am

  5. I read somewhere recently that going through a doorway can act as a kind of memory reset on short-term memory. That makes sense if memory is to some extent based on surroundings (as though memory were somehow stored as a complex of interactions, including clues from the environment). And in fact that does seem likely: if I can’t think of something and return to the original location and position, it will often pop back into mind. Come to think of it, I think this is well known: I recall a mnemonist who, for the Big Party, made every room in his house into a distinct environment: one filled with balloons, another with fluttery hangings, another with special lighting, and so on, with distinct fragrances and refreshments. That set-up ensures that the party-goers will have a great many distinct memories as compared with the same group in a uniform environment. See the book Moonwalking with Einstein.

    Of course, we walk through doorways all the time, so it’s a handy excuse. And in fact, after doing the set-up I did go through a doorway and get involved in something else.

    LeisureGuy

    20 February 2014 at 12:32 pm

  6. Thank God for doorways. There are some things best forgotten in my life.

    Phil Wilson

    20 February 2014 at 8:19 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,347 other followers