Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

BBS with HTGAM and the “Sticky”

with 2 comments

SOTD 21 Feb 2014

Extremely good shave today. The soap at the left in a plastic wrap is a pre-shave soap that HowToGrowAMoustache.com is working on, and I gave it a try this morning. It’s quite nice. I do like the fragrance, and for me it worked much better than the HTGAM pre-shave butter stick.

I haven’t used the Omega 11047 mixed boar and badger brush for a while, which is a shame: it’s a terrific little brush and does not feel little at all on the face. Once again I brushed my cupped palm briskly with the fully loaded brush to develop the lather. I like the result. The lather in this case is from the HTGAM with the label shown above. (On his site, you can see that the soap is named Gondolier, but the container doesn’t carry the name.) The wonderful HTGAM lather was, as always, a pleasure, and the fragrance is pleasant if unassertive.

Three passes of the very comfortable Wilkinson “Sticky” holding a Feather blade, then a good splash of Creed Aventus as an aftershave.

Feeling good, with the weekend just ahead.

Written by LeisureGuy

21 February 2014 at 8:37 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael, what are your current three favorite razors? Obviously, this changes from time to time. Mine are 1. Gillette Red Tip 2. Schick Krona (Metal Tip) 3. Maggard MR-7. These are the ones that shave me the best with a number of blade brands. The Maggard was the biggest surprise. They are somewhat crudely finished, but the shave is first rate. In fact, I use a Cadet handle on mine. I’ve recently received a Weber Bulldog, but I’ve only got one shave in with it.

    Ryan

    23 February 2014 at 6:08 pm

  2. Naming favorites is very difficult for me since I like so many for their individual characteristics—the Eclipse Red Ring or the Wilkinson “Sticky” or the Apollo Mikron are all extremely nice and also different. The Progress is nice and like the Mikron. The slants, of course, and lately I’ve liked that French Eros black bakelite slant a lot. The iKons are nice, as are vintage Gillettes.

    LeisureGuy

    23 February 2014 at 6:51 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,273 other followers