Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Extremely nice shave with excellent razor

with 2 comments

SOTD 26 Feb 2014

Extremely smooth result today. My BestShave.net horsehair brush ($2.45) created an extremely good lather, thanks in no small part to Creed’s Green Irish Tweed shaving soap: a wonderful soap, but is a price category distant from the tools used today.

Ri Mei, I have to say, is an excellent razor, and when measuring performance against price, it beats every other razor. The price is around $3, depending on wnere you purchase it. This one has the new solid handle, but seems to have the same, excellent, stainless steel head it’s always had. And today, with a Gillette Super Thin blade, the shave was wonderful: comfortable and close, with no nicks or burn.

A good splash of Creed’s GIT EDT, and the day is launched.

Written by LeisureGuy

26 February 2014 at 8:13 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am amazed by the value of the Sodial/ Ri Mei razor. I got mine on Amazon a couple of years ago. I heard a rumor that they changed the head, but your post seems to indicate that it still gives a great shave. That is my least expensive razor, and my Weber Bulldog handle Razor is my most expensive. To be honest, they both give about the same shave. Arguably, the Weber may last longer with it’s stainless construction. The Weber for me, has more pride of ownership and is made in the USA. I still am coping with full blown RAD. Oddly, I’ve managed not to do too many bulk buys of blades. Although, I have 100 Gillette Sharp Edge Yellow Pack on the way which I find to be a great blade in mild razors such as these.

    Ryan

    27 February 2014 at 9:55 am

  2. The Ri Mei is also made of stainless (though stamped rather than machined—this is the head), so it, too, will enjoy a long life. It really is surprisingly good.

    Because blade brands occasionally go out of production forever, it’s a good idea to have a large stash of any you particularly like. I am still kicking myself for not picking up a thousand Astra Keramik Platinum when I had the chance.

    LeisureGuy

    27 February 2014 at 11:18 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,294 other followers