Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Comparing the Omega R&B brush with the Pro 48

with 5 comments

SOTD 1 Mar 2014

Just to be clear, “R&B” in the title means Razor & Brush, not Rhythm & Blues. The R&B limited edition premium brush (the bristles are not cut at the ends: the brush ends with the natural taper of the bristle) is based on the ever-popular Omega Pro 48, but the R&B brush has the special knot and also a solid resin handle in the colors of the Italian flag.

Since the two brushes are related, though, I decided to use both this morning. I made the decision after the photo was taken, unfortunately. My Pro 48 is pretty well broken in and the R&B brush is new.

Both brushes loaded easily and both made a superb lather from HTGAM’s Pumpkin 3.14 shaving soap. On the face, the R&B was noticeably softer: it was like a premium silvertip brush in feel. The Pro 48 was also soft but firmed—as though bristles were thicker.

I used an iKon open comb and achieved a BBS finish in 3 passes. Since Pumpkin Pie has a fragrance redolent of spice, I again used Booster Oriental Spice aftershave, a good choice: it’s a very nice aftershave, albeit inexpensive.

Written by LeisureGuy

1 March 2014 at 10:41 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael, what is your take on the Merkur Open Comb Head? I believe that you used to have a Muhle handled version pictured in one of the early additions of your book. I am a fan of it. I find that it is not overly aggressive.

    Ryan

    1 March 2014 at 11:47 am

  2. I’ve not used a Merkur open-comb for quite a while, but I recall it as a mild razor: not too mild, not too aggressive. On the whole, though, I prefer the design that puts a slight gap between blade’s edge and the teeth of the comb—see this post for examples. I admit that the Gillette NEW, which uses the design I prefer, is more aggressive than the Merkur open-comb.

    LeisureGuy

    1 March 2014 at 12:25 pm

  3. I must have a more sensitive face than some. Although I agree that excellent lather can be made with a boar brush, the application to the face feels more like a wallpaper brush than a badger.

    Bob Slaughter

    1 March 2014 at 1:51 pm

  4. I would be very interested in your take on this particular brush. To my face, it felt exactly like the softest of my silvertip badgers. I’m in the practice of wetting a boar knot under the hot water tap before I shower and then let it stand while I shower. It’s ready then when I’m done with the shower. I was told that the pre-soak is not needed with this brush, but I do it anyway—contrary old fart.

    LeisureGuy

    1 March 2014 at 2:33 pm

  5. I’m with Bob on boars. Maybe not so much that they feel harsh, but they seem to need longer lofts and generally work more like a paint brush. I enjoy silvertips ever so much more. Lately my best results come by rubbing a shave stick over my stubble to start, and then coming behind with soft badger with tips dipped in a good cream. I get the best of both worlds that way – denser/wetter lather with more slip and more scent.

    Dan Foster

    3 March 2014 at 8:34 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,293 other followers