Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

No lather problem today, and a superb shave

with 4 comments

SOTD 4 Mar 2014

Today I used a horsehair shaving brush with Dickens shaving soap by Barrister & Mann. No problem in getting three good passes of lather from the fully loaded brush. The shave itself was extremely good: the Progress left my face BBS after three passes. I should add that I state when my shave is BBS because I think novices will be interested to know that a BBS result is actually pretty common after several years of practice and experience. By that time you’ve found the brands of blade that work best for you, your prep and technique are polished, and a really fine shave is pretty much routine.

A good splash of TOBS No. 74 aftershave, and the day begins.

Written by LeisureGuy

4 March 2014 at 10:57 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have that TOBS Original 74 as a cologne. There is something about it when I first put it on that is sort of “off putting”. I’m not sure what it is. But after it has been on a while, it “improves”. I’m not even sure what fragrances it uses.

    JH2

    4 March 2014 at 12:04 pm

  2. That’s exactly my take: not so good when first applied, but quickly mellows to something nice. I believe the same is true for Pindaud’s Lilac Vegetal, which gets judged a lot on that first impression.

    LeisureGuy

    4 March 2014 at 1:32 pm

  3. I don’t have (never even smelled) the Pinaud Lilac Vegetal. I do have the Pinaud Classic. I like that very much. I use it fairly frequently. I understand that it has been around a long time. Must be popular(?).

    JH2

    4 March 2014 at 2:22 pm

  4. Pinaud aftershaves (Clubman, Coachman, Bay Rum, et al.) have been around a long time and continue to be popular. But in most forums there’s a strong sentiment against their Lilac Vegetal, based, as I say, on the initial hit of the fragrance. Some have commented that by the time they get to work, the fragrance is very nice.

    LeisureGuy

    4 March 2014 at 2:30 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,191 other followers