Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Steak this weekend…

with 2 comments

I blogged about this report of a study that purported to show that routinely eating beef would tilt the gut microbiome toward a bacterium whose activities result in a chemical TMAO in the bloodstream, a chemical that encourages heart attacks. (More detail at the link.) This is of concern on a low-carb diet, since beef would move more in the mainstream of foods I eat—though I’ve mostly avoided it, substituting pork or chicken or fish.

But Brian in a comment pointed out this cogent rebuttal of the first study, and I am sure that searching will find other articles (pro and con)—but at least the science is not yet settled. I don’t plan on going on a beef binge, but I will buy it with less concern. Variety in one’s diet is probably the best course, though obviously anyone with a lick of sense will try to avoid refined sugars and flours and products made with them. Neither refined sugar nor refined flour is “food” in any sense save raw calories.

Written by LeisureGuy

25 June 2014 at 10:36 am

Posted in Food, Health, Science

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s interesting, I’m sure given enough time I could find 5 articles both for and against a high amount of beef in the diet. And I must say, I didn’t search for that article simply because I thought your original article was hogwash; rather, the NYTimes article interested me enough to do more digging on it. I think it’s worthwhile to continue to try to learn everything we can, especially when it comes to diet and nutrition.

    I know refined sugar has no nutritional value at all, but it is tough staying on track with low-carb when I live so close to an excellent bakery. I should probably move.

    Anyway, thanks for posting this article. If nothing else, it’s worth having an open discussion.

    Brian

    25 June 2014 at 11:18 am

  2. Fortunately for me, wheat triggers problems for The Wife, so we pretty much eschew it entirely. Bakeries are not an issue because they have become effectively invisible.

    LeisureGuy

    25 June 2014 at 11:21 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,196 other followers