Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Shave perfection: Paisley, Mühle, and Stealth

with 5 comments

SOTD 29 Aug 2014

The Paisley lid is, you’ll note, upside down. Sorry about that.

The Mühle silvertip produced an extremely good lather from the Paisley shaving soap (with its octagonal puck). Indeed, all three of the vintage soaps produce a lather of the quality of the lather from D.R. Harris, and I imagine that is because D.R. Harris continues to use the shaving soap formula from back in the day—the day in which my vintage soaps were used. More competition required tip-top performance.

Nowadays shaving soap makers still face competition, but mostly it’s competition from canned foam, and in many companies hypercompetition rules, so that there is always an urgent drive to cut costs—thus reformulations to use cheaper ingredients. Oddly, those cheaper (to make: no change is retail price) soaps don’t work so well.

I would say of the modern commercial soaps D.R. Harris leads in value. (Creed’s shaving soap is perhaps better, but Creed’s shaving soap costs $82/tub.)

Three passes by the Stealth holding a newish Personna Lab Blue and my face was BBS with no trace of nick. A dab of D.R. Harris After Shaving Milk, and we start our vacation weekend. (The Wife is taking today as a vacation day, so her schedule is very nice: just finished a 4-day work week, starting a 4-day vacation, followed by another 4-day work week.)

 

Written by LeisureGuy

29 August 2014 at 8:46 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How do you find the Milk? Does it absorb quickly?

    Gavin Groom

    29 August 2014 at 8:57 am

  2. I like it a lot. It has a great non-wimpy fragrance. By the time I’m dressed, it’s been absorbed and my skin feels very nice.

    LeisureGuy

    29 August 2014 at 9:06 am

  3. Savor your best times. Being unemployed affords me daily, nonstop vacations. The lack of salary/health insurance rots, but the other perks are enjoyable.

    BIG CHRONO

    29 August 2014 at 9:43 am

  4. I lucked out in my work life with only a few periods of being unemployed—though certainly the threat of unemployment was always in the back of my mind. Now that I’m retired, I feel very lucky indeed. Part of that is timing: being born shortly before WWII was a good choice.

    LeisureGuy

    29 August 2014 at 9:48 am

  5. Indeed it was. I came 7 years after WWII ended, which should have given me an “edge”, but curses & other nefarious forces made sure I’d always end up behind an 8 ball. When I first had matzoh ball soup, there was an actual 8 ball in there replacing the standard matzoh ball.

    BIG CHRONO

    29 August 2014 at 10:17 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,293 other followers